Microsoft Working on 128-bit Windows

Discussion in 'Technology News' started by topgear, Oct 11, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. topgear

    topgear Fast 'N' Furious

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    18,796
    Likes Received:
    96
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Geek's Heaven
    That's a lot of bits.

    Just before the world receives Windows 7, there are already rumblings of a generation-after-next version of Windows that will come in a 128-bit flavor.

    Eightforums spotted in Microsoft Senior Research & Development employee Robert Morgan's LinkedIn profile that he was working IA-128 for the next two generations of Windows.

    The update to Morgan's profile, which has since been removed, read as follows:

    While progress is no surprise, especially since many expect that 64-bit will become the majority for Windows 7, it's somewhat of a revelation if 128-bit software will be available just one generation from now.

    Stay tuned, as Morgan has agreed to a short Q&A with Eightforums. We'll be recapping the best bits for you as soon as they're available.

    http://www.tomshardware.com/news/windows-7-128bit-next-generation,8827.html
     
  2. x3060

    x3060 A LOTR fan

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hmm...even the 64 bit has lot ....A LOT to catch up , and they are thinking of 128 bit . :(
     
  3. Liverpool_fan

    Liverpool_fan Sami Hyypiä, LFC legend

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2007
    Messages:
    2,209
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Нью-Дели
    128bit WILL NOT catch ON, period.
     
  4. Techn0crat

    Techn0crat RPG FTW!!!

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    "The x86-64 architecture, however, doesn’t use all 64 bits for memory addresses—it uses 48, making the total addressable memory 256 terabytes" -June 2008 Twice As Nice by Nimish Chandiramani

    We are still not using complete 64 Bit architecture.128 Bit is just BS! unless you want to use that PC for brute force password cracking :D
     
  5. Cool G5

    Cool G5 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Messages:
    4,188
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Aamchi Mumbai !!!
    LOL... This is currently not even needed.
     
  6. sakumar79

    sakumar79 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Messages:
    2,445
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Madurai
    Possibly true, but I am sure that if the Linux community or the people at Apple had started this, everybody would have wow-ed instead...

    Arun
     
  7. OP
    OP
    topgear

    topgear Fast 'N' Furious

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    18,796
    Likes Received:
    96
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Geek's Heaven
    ^^ May be...

    But as of now it's just overkill for desktop users. Most of'em using 32 bit. But indeed 64 bit is future for desktop users and 128 will find it's way in server market as I think there will be very little apps support for 128 bit and on the other hand it will feature tighter security features needed for server side usage.

    BTW, there is no 128bit cpu's yet - so even server side users will not get the full potential out of this 128 bit wonder :p
     
  8. x3060

    x3060 A LOTR fan

    Joined:
    Dec 2, 2007
    Messages:
    1,173
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    solaris has 128 bit, but regardless of who is having , i think its just a waist , 64 bit has not even become a regular thing on windows or linux... and in any cases who ever is working on 128 bit is doing their homework wrong... first lets get the 64 thing up and running, then we can think about rest.
     
  9. Krow

    Krow Crowman

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    4,330
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    Yeah, x64 is something I'll install for the first time tomorrow and when again, why would I need it unless they give it for free?
     
  10. Cool G5

    Cool G5 Active Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2006
    Messages:
    4,188
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Aamchi Mumbai !!!
    My friend some 6 months ago, installed a pirated version of Windows XP 64 Bit but then he had to remove it since getting drivers for 64 Bit were pain since he didn't had a net connection.
    He is now back on pirated Windows Vista 32 Bit :D
     
    Last edited: Oct 12, 2009
  11. vaithy

    vaithy New Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2006
    Messages:
    439
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    chennai
    HeH..Heh..

    (off the topic)
    It is amazing 'from the Dark tunnels of Internet underground how the pirates are moving very fast and lethal force.."

    But, as a true open source admirer, I don't support Pirates(especially 'windows loaders.. because they are the one who kill 'open source' way..
     
  12. GigaHeartz

    GigaHeartz Off the beaten track

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2009
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bglr-Hyd
    comeon people you are speculating on the roumour about his profile.. lol.. man tomorrow i will write i am working on a pocket size nuclear power which can take me to mars.. will u belive it?..this is ridiculous..
     
  13. Techn0crat

    Techn0crat RPG FTW!!!

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ^^
    HeHe
    Nice one!
    128-Bit is just a rumour(Like Pentium 5).:D
     
  14. ico

    ico Super Moderator

    Joined:
    Jun 14, 2007
    Messages:
    10,922
    Likes Received:
    112
    Trophy Points:
    63
    so true! :lol:
     
  15. Aspire

    Aspire New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Messages:
    834
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It's a fake rumour
     
  16. gxsaurav

    gxsaurav You gave been GXified

    Joined:
    Jan 16, 2007
    Messages:
    5,610
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    Although there is no confirmation of this, progress is never wasted.

    128bit architecture may not be required in a general desktop but on server & High performance super computing side, it is required in next few years. A higher bit architecture doesn't only means more RAM addressing support, it also means that the CPU can do more work per clock then before, which bring more efficiency per watt... something crucial for a good server/data center usage.
     
  17. OP
    OP
    topgear

    topgear Fast 'N' Furious

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    18,796
    Likes Received:
    96
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Geek's Heaven
    ^^ completely agree with you :p
     
  18. Krow

    Krow Crowman

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    4,330
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    Hmmm... Older members are popping up sometimes. Good signs. :)
     
  19. Techn0crat

    Techn0crat RPG FTW!!!

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    gxsaurav is right.but 128 bit systems might be under developement(excluding ZFS) and they will stay in server market only.as completely 64-bit system is still not in market and unnecessary for regular desktop users,128-bit Windows is a ridiculous idea.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page