Mac vs Windows

harmads

Hi all

I have been debating with the idea of switching from Windows to Mac OS. I would highly appreciate comments and pros and cons from experienced users of both to help me decide..

Best regards

What is your primary requirment for switching? Whats your budget for the hardware? Before you make a decision, I would recomend having a look here for the Pros & Cons of Mac OS X

The ultimate shootout: Apple Mac OS X vs. Microsoft Windows Vista

Windows Explorer vs Mac OS X Finder

WMP 11 Vs iTunes + QuickTime

If you are in the market for a compleately new Desktop & can pay 60k for a moderate hardware based Desktop or atleast 1.1 lakh on a Macbook pro Laptop, then sure go ahead & get a Mac. The Mac Salesman of this forum, Arya can u help u better.

H

harmads

slugger said:
try laying ur hands on this month's FAST TRACK on Mac. shud help u in deciding

Thankyou sirs.. for your prompt input, I would go thru the links.. However could you plz clarify where I can get my hands on Fast Track.. is a separate mag or part of Digit , I am not so savy in these things..

Regards

yash

I draw every day
well, if u're done reading those 'unbiased' comparisons, I would like to state my personal opinion, I have been using macbook pro for 6 months now, and I am really happy with the switch. not running any antivirus, not running any firewall or antispyware software, not having to go through maintenence every month, no defragmentation, and everything just works on the OSX side. plus, I can also run windows on either bootcamp or parallels desktop or vmware fusion. and I should tell u, the only times I had to reset my MBP is when I was running windows.

Liggy

Is actually a real word..
yash said:
I should tell u, the only times I had to reset my MBP is when I was running windows.
must be the mac can't handle the power of MS... J/K :D :D :D

yash said:
not running any antivirus, not running any firewall or antispyware software, not having to go through maintenence every month, no defragmentation, and everything just works on the OSX side.

I have been running Windows Vista since novembar 30 2006 without any installation, antivirus or antispyware. Just ad muncher.

You Mac comes with a Firewall

You Mac HD also defragments. Try running a session of iDefrag

@yash,
Hey, c'mon. It was just a joke.

@harmads,
Look, the only thing you have to decide is whether you have the budget or not. If you have Rs. 55,000, you can go for a MacBook or iMac. If you have about Rs. 80,000, you can go for a 15" MacBook Pro. If you have about Rs. 1.4 lac, you can go for a 17" MacBook Pro and if you have about Rs. 2 lac, you can buy a Mac Pro.

Reasons not to buy a Mac:
Laptops - Heat. No other issues.
iMac - Non upgradeable. No other issues.

Reasons to buy a Mac:
Mac OS X - You'll fall in love with it. No viruses, crashes, extremely stable and has hordes of extremely well programmed applications. Can run most Windows and Linux applications as well.
Can run all operating systems, including Windows Vista and XP and all flavours of Linux.
Beauty, style, class, awesome aesthetics and build quality.
World class support. (Rated no. 1 by The Consumerist magazine.)
MagSafe Power adapter, backlit keyboard, best trackpad in the business, light and motion sensors.

The main reason, of course, still remains Mac OS X. There are four Mac users on this forum - goobimama, akuCRACKER, yash and me. All four of us are extremely satisfied with our decision to switch, have never regretted it and plan to stay with Apple forever. Mac OS X is just too good.

"Once you go Mac, you never go back."

Buy the July issue of the Digit magazine and read the Fast Track to Apple. Read the disadvantages and the advantages. Then make your decision.

Do not be influenced by what the world says. Let your brother or your uncle who is an IT engineer say whatever they want. They have never used a Mac. You may have a friend who everyone says is good at computers and technology. He isn't. He is good at Windows. In India, people buy things based on other people's recommendations, others who themselves have very little idea. Don't make that mistake. People on this forum itself advised me not to switch to a Mac. In retrospect and with the benefit of hindsight, I can assuredly tell you that the best decision I ever made was not listening to them.

(BTW, I, along with goobimama and mail2and, wrote that book. So if you have any queries, feel free to ask me. You may also contact me on AIM or via PM.) :)

@harmads

Contact Arya , Goobi or Sr Ultimate. I strongly recommend these guys as they all USE Mac. They will be able to tell you more about it.

(BTW, I, along with goobimama and mail2and, wrote that book. So if you have any queries, feel free to ask me. You may also contact me on AIM or via PM.) :)

WOW, man I never knew that. Thats pretty cool. Congrats to all of you. That is really great. Much appreciated as it will help a lot of people.

Thank you! :)

The appreciation makes it worth the effort (though the pay doesn't hurt either! :p).

isnt mac mini never come upon his budget range? :? i think though it is just a cpu it is below 40K.

blueshift

Wise Old Crow
Thats nice to hear about arya, goobi and mail2and. Well done guys !

I think you can even run OS X on Wintel system. If i m not wrong both gx_saurav and iMav are doing that.
Even if i had too much money I would buy a top class Windows desktop/laptop.
Ofcourse Macs are good too minus the games and varied softwares. Plus u get a special status in the society (thats what 'others' think; I don't ! ).
so if u are not into gaming and do basic stuff on computers then buy a MAC.

slugger

blueshift said:
do basic stuff on computers then buy a MAC.

some of the most advanced and versatile tools have been developed 4 d MAC platform, for vdo editing and post production [even production] which r used by sum of d biggest movie studios on dis planet to bring to us this fabulous utopian fantasy v cal movies

basic stuff eh!!!
u made mac sound like a 486:D

slugger said:
some of the most advanced and versatile tools have been developed 4 d MAC platform, for vdo editing and post production [even production] which r used by sum of d biggest movie studios on dis planet to bring to us this fabulous utopian fantasy v cal movies

Some of the most advanced scientific applications are made on UNIX

Some of the most advanced forensic apps are made on Windows.

Some of the most good looking apps are made on Mac.

The only good Video editing tool available on Mac is Apple's own FCP or Shake or Motion. On Windows, the user can use whatever he wants, Adobe Premiere, After effect, Coumbustion, Toxic, Flint, Fire, whatever he wants.

blueshift said:
Thats nice to hear about arya, goobi and mail2and. Well done guys !
Thank you! :)

You are absolutely wrong, by the way. This statement just has no truth to it at all: "if u are not into gaming and do basic stuff on computers then buy a MAC"
Gaming, I give you because you have to install Windows to do that.
But basic stuff? A Mac is only good for basic stuff! Who gave you that idea? A Mac can do everything a Windows machine can and looks good while doing it.

For example, I play HD movies on it without any issues. I use Adobe Creative Suite 3 and I could use Final Cut Pro for HD video editing and compositing if I wanted to. C'mon! Macs can do everything excluding games. They can do gaming too but the choice of native Mac games is pitiful so you will need to install Windows for gaming.

About running Mac OS X on Wintel - well, you can see how well iMav and gx_saurav are faring. And it wasn't an easy task installing it. gx_saurav himself said that he has installed the OS seven times. It is, of course, also illegal. Clearly, that is not the best way to go and is the worst way to gain the Mac experience.
A far better alternative is to go to any Apple Premium Reseller and use the machines for as long as you wish to.

praka123 said:
isnt mac mini never come upon his budget range? :? i think though it is just a cpu it is below 40K.
No, it is everything except the display, keyboard and mouse. I did not recommend it because, IMHO, it is far too underpowered and does not provide the ideal Mac experience. It is more suited to an established Mac user who wants a cheap Mac for some specific purpose. The price is 35K. :)

The only good Video editing tool available on Mac is Apple's own FCP or Shake or Motion. On Windows, the user can use whatever he wants, Adobe Premiere, After effect, Coumbustion, Toxic, Flint, Fire, whatever he wants.
But only Avid is a match for FCP when it comes to features. But FCP has a far better user interface.

H

harmads

Thankyou friends !! for very useful inputs...changeover is like a lifestyle change and may take long to do...

Aryayush.. please tell me what do you miss on Mac that you were able to do in Windows.. I am into a lot of Online Stock Trading/Investing, Excel work, Word, Adobe Photoshop, Music. Will I be able to continue doing all these seamlessly ?? My main issues with Windows are Viruses, Spyware, Ads, system hanging...etc etc..