I'm new to videography - How did you reduce noise with your Canon 550d?

audiophilic

Journeyman
Hey guys,

I've just bought a new canon 550D and have been playing around with it. I didn't specifically buy it for photography. I'm into videography and i thought it would be a great start.

The only issue i'm facing is the noise, which happens during night. DUring day, noise is not ther - well its there but not that much.

What do you guys think? What settings should i go for with the ISO on low light conditions?

If possible, please post some photos to tell me the difference.! Thanks

sujoyp

Grand Master
ok soo u want to remove noise from video right??
Then i have 2 solutions for you

1. get a lens with low light capabilities like canon 50mm 1.8 ...due to its big aperture u can definitely get good video

2. Get a continuous light source like videographers do at parties and marriages :)

if u can increase the ISO of the video then I am sure after ISO 400 the video quality will degrade

BTW whan u have both of those only then u will have satisfactory video at night...low light is not easy to cope

OP
audiophilic

audiophilic

Journeyman
ok soo u want to remove noise from video right??
Then i have 2 solutions for you

1. get a lens with low light capabilities like canon 50mm 1.8 ...due to its big aperture u can definitely get good video

2. Get a continuous light source like videographers do at parties and marriages :)

if u can increase the ISO of the video then I am sure after ISO 400 the video quality will degrade

BTW whan u have both of those only then u will have satisfactory video at night...low light is not easy to cope

You're right man. I'm planning to buy a couple of flashes with remotes, hopefully they will shed some light on the darkness. Which cam are you using? And how do you shoot your videos? DO you use a tripod? or handheld?
Have you tried creating a movie?
I'm planning to shoot a small movie but can't find actors lol!

sujoyp

Grand Master