How to disable HDD, but Temporarily ???

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by rachitboom2, Aug 11, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rachitboom2

    rachitboom2 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Messages:
    505
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lost in the winds of life...
    Hi all,

    One of my cousins had got one of his HDD to be corrupted and now hi is asking one of my spare HDD for some time,
    and I know that if I give it to him I wont get it back soon,

    so pls tell me that is there any way to disable or corrupt my HDD temporarily so that I wont have to give it to him, and pls also tell me how make it run again ???

    Thanks in advance !!!
     
  2. ilugd

    ilugd Beware of the innocent

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,009
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    just say no man. Don't mess with the hard drive.
     
  3. Vishal Gupta

    Vishal Gupta Microsoft MVP

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2005
    Messages:
    5,173
    Likes Received:
    121
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    AskVG.com
    lol...

    1st method: Just enter into BIOS settings and set all boot device orders to disable.

    2nd method: Open cabinet and remove the power cable from ur HDD.
     
  4. shashank4u

    shashank4u Member

    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2006
    Messages:
    678
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Online
    load linux or other operating system in that spare hdd..
    and u know what to say..
     
  5. Pathik

    Pathik Google Bot

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    9,747
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    yup disable the hdd from the bios.
     
  6. Stalker

    Stalker New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    Messages:
    992
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    closer than u think..
    install linux on the harddisk, in that case it won't be detected in windows

    has anyone got a better idea?? i somewat have the same problem
     
  7. OP
    OP
    rachitboom2

    rachitboom2 New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 1, 2005
    Messages:
    505
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Lost in the winds of life...
    Oh,
    sorry none of you are understanding my prob,

    he will take it from me and then he will attach it in his system and then reinstall XP using a bootable CD as he dosent have any OS currently !!!

    So, none of your sugestions would help me !!!
     
  8. pops

    pops New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 11, 2006
    Messages:
    20
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    c:\con\lpt9
    Very Sorry!!! There is one easy way. Simply disable it from your BIOS or loose the power cable!!!
    If u Dont like u may......

    U Have not maintained what type of HD, As SATA or ATA type.
    If u have ATA type then u have another option, u can try. Plough another CD-ROM or a HD to the same cable. Then change Master/Slave jumper. Do same for both drive, which ll make confusion and Your HD will not readable for your computer. But in this case u r going to block both the device!!!! Sorry. Later u can change all the setting to back.

    (Another option is limited 32GB to give illusion any one as bad-sector HD!!!! But make sure u back-uped ur data!!!!!!! Before changing the jumper for this trick!!!)
     
  9. suman2005

    suman2005 New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Messages:
    52
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Just look him in the eye and say an emphatic... NO !!!!

    I have learned this the hard way - people borrow but never lend and never return in same condition so I now just say a big fat .... NO !!!! I dont bother to give a reason as you will find the borrower will try his best to knock down the escuses you give. I firm NO is the end of the discussion.
     
  10. siriusb

    siriusb New Member

    Joined:
    May 12, 2005
    Messages:
    1,171
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chennai, India, Asia, the Earth, the Solar system,
    If you are willing to go the extra mile to deny your cousin of your hdd, and you have no qualms de-soldering and re-soldering an smd, just desolder a couple of resitors/caps/chips or whatever is easily accessible on the pcb. As soon as he leaves, resolder'em back on. Just hope that you didn't remove the wrong ones o.o

    Or, more practically, just hide it in you closet and tell him you gave it away or something.
     
  11. d

    d New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chennai
    yea mate.. simplest is to disable the hard drive from the BIOS.. the next one's to disconnect power.. you should be able to resume as you'd left as soon as you're done with it..
     
  12. Stalker

    Stalker New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    Messages:
    992
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    closer than u think..
    just say no!....or something like 'u have given it to a friend'. don't mess with the harddisk
     
  13. satyamy

    satyamy Alive Again...

    Joined:
    May 20, 2005
    Messages:
    1,665
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    I too have a same problem like rachitboom2
    but none of your suggestion is good & working for me
     
  14. d

    d New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chennai
    satyamy.. what is the problem that you're having? why don't any of the solutions fit you?
     
  15. Stalker

    Stalker New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 16, 2006
    Messages:
    992
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    closer than u think..
    well, i think they both don't want their drives to be detected on their friend's comp but function on their own comp only............right??

    well, i have the same sort of problem.......any ideas????
     
  16. pop143

    pop143 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Messages:
    163
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    how abt selling ure HDD to him..! mean..if u dont use it frequent...bcoz..that peice wont go for any cost after some years...!!
     
  17. Kniwor

    Kniwor Learner

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,949
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
  18. bharat_r

    bharat_r New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2004
    Messages:
    470
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chennai
    there was some software called Starforce Nightmare which was used to play Star force protected games..u can disable the hard disk with that..
     
  19. mediator

    mediator New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 18, 2005
    Messages:
    2,491
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    In ur Evil Mind!
    Just hide the windows partition!
     
  20. ayush_chh

    ayush_chh Member

    Joined:
    Nov 25, 2005
    Messages:
    525
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Bangalore
    i don't know it will work or not but try
    changing the jumper setting........
    make it slave......
    or limit its capacity........:D
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page