How to calculate Speed Post rates

Status
Not open for further replies.

pimpom

Cyborg Agent
This is meant to help those who'd like to be able to estimate the charges they'll have to pay when shipping something by Speed Post. I wondered if I should post it in the thread "Poll: Courier Service Feedback", but it didn't seem to be quite appropriate, so I'm posting it separately.

One common concern for both seller and buyer in the Bazaar section is the shipping charge. There are many national couriers to choose from and their rates vary widely. Experiences with a particular courier regarding speed and safety vary from region to region and from person to person. So there is no best courier for everybody everywhere.

Speaking for myself, I've been using Speed Post for many years and am well satisfied with their service, both for sending out and for having things sent to me. They have a simple pricing structure based on distance and actual weight plus taxes. No volumetric weight, fuel surcharge, etc. as practiced by most other couriers. Shown below is a screenshot of their rates as of today, the 25th July, 2011. It has remained the same for four years now.

*img717.imageshack.us/img717/7003/speedpostrates.png

For weights above 50 grams, taxes are 10% service tax plus Re.1 education cess. Here's an example of how to calculate the charges:
Most major Indian cities like Delhi, Mumbai, Kolkata, Chennai are all within the 1000-2000 km zone from each other. Suppose you were to send a package weighing 1.85 kg from Kolkata to Delhi -

1) 1.85 kg will be counted as 2.0 kg
2) Charge for the first 0.5kg = 70/-
3) Charge for the other 1.5kg = 3x30 = 90/-
4) Basic total = 160/-
5) Service tax = 10% of 160 = 16/-
6) Educational cess = Re.1
7) Grand total = Rs.177

For distances which fall into the 201-1000 km category, like Hyderabad to Chennai, the total charge for the same package will be 45 + 3x15 + 10% + 1 = Rs.100 exactly.