How much bandwidth do you use per month with plan

rohit32407

200gb+(mostly youtube videos in hd)
ISP- Railtel(indian railways ISP
Plan-I get around 8-15 mbps. Its free, truly unlimited(no caps)

rohit32407

Free ?
Only for Indian Railway Employes ?
Yes its only for Indian Railway's employees. Its one of the perks offered by them to their employees.

@tkin Nope the scenario has changed and now railtel is there in almost every zone of indian railways including kolkata.

Yes its only for Indian Railway's employees. Its one of the perks offered by them to their employees.

@tkin Nope the scenario has changed and now railtel is there in almost every zone of indian railways including kolkata.
IRS exam here I come. Will ex employees get them?

And no 2, what is their coverage, they can't be placed throughout kolkata.

rohit32407

IRS exam here I come. Will ex employees get them?

And no 2, what is their coverage, they can't be placed throughout kolkata.
Nope only in the railway offices and railway colonies(garden reach etc.). Home connections are only provided to officer grade employees. AFAIK its not given to the ex-employees as its only present in railway colonies and offices. But nevertheless for current employees its a great perk. Great bandwidth(around 8-20 MBPS) and its completely free. Even the pings on gaming servers are decent(60-80). Mumbaikars are sure to get even better pings as most of the gaming servers are located in Mumbai itself.

sujeet2555

i have 750UL+ and this is last month usage according to my bill.
Usage Charges
Description Units in KB
Broadband Day Usage 63080635
BB Night Usage (2AM-8AM) 15353968
Total 78434603

hard to believe that some here are actually basing their life long career choice based on getting an unlimited broadband plan.rest assured that whatever you think now once you settle in life type of broadband plan will be the least of your worries.

P.S.the biggest reason for considering career in railways/PWD is the under table income.you can become a crorepati within a few years even if you are a clerk(that's right!!).

rohit32407

hard to believe that some here are actually basing their life long career choice based on getting an unlimited broadband plan.rest assured that whatever you think now once you settle in life type of broadband plan will be the least of your worries.

P.S.the biggest reason for considering career in railways/PWD is the under table income.you can become a crorepati within a few years even if you are a clerk(that's right!!).
Well that is subjective and debatable but i guess this is not the place to do it..

i have a lot of experience regarding govt offices & know examples from crorepati clerks to corrupt DMs.if anyone say that people join govt services especially like railways,PWD etc for better career prospects or servicing the nation 90% of the time it is a lie(rest 10% falls in endangered naive/honest category).most probably why indian railways(& indian roads) are in such a bad shape.even ticket window clerks earn lakhs scamming TATKAL tickets.

anyway my point was about career choice based on such a factor like broadband plan.i guess it is the fault of young age here.

^^ Ha ha, not me, my plan is to stick with software companies, and to go abroad, or just go abroad a few years later to do a masters in comp science, then I'll get proper speeds.

Revolution

Lol!
U totally get it wrong.
First of all I'm not a High Profile ppl like other in forum.
I'm just a simple Electrician(AKA Current Missteree). :p
Was working at a private factory.
So,Railway Employment even if as a Motorman or at any technical post at railway is good for me.

Everything is relative in this world.
Railway Employment may be big for me but for someone the post of Microsoft CEO may means nothing. :p

didn't know that & i am guessing you have an ITI diploma :) still if you are willing to compromise a bit with ethics(if you know what i mean) any job in railways can get you good money.

rohit32407

@Revolution Railways is a good option since its a steady job. Don't rely on the scenario that whitestar has mentioned, trust me it isn't as common as some people might think.
@whitestar_999 Your statement is too generalised. I have been in and around railways for past 24 years and I am yet to see a clerk who is crorepati. Most people join railways because it offers you a decent salary, train passes, nice home to live in and many other perks which are rare in most of the jobs in our country. So to generalise the intention of anyone going for a govt. job as of being corrupt is not right in IMO. The on-site experience you get after getting selected in IES is valued even outside raiways. many people from railways have taken voluntary retirement and have gone for private sector where they actually are earning lacs and crores in and outside of india. not everyone gets in for "under the table" income. Some get in for perks, some for the "so-called" pride of govt. job(which is bogus in my opinion), some get in railways or any other govt. job just because they don't like the corporate work culture and yes some do get in for "under the table" money.

P.S. This debate is anyway irrelevant to this thread so I will stop this argument here from my side.