Help! Programs illustrating Inheritance in C++..

Status
Not open for further replies.

Quiz_Master

* Teh Flirt King *
Hello. I am currently studying OOP in C++. I am not getting hang of this Inheritance concept.:sad: I want to write simple programs (like addition, multiplication, dividation etc) using all 5 types(Single, Multiple, Multilevel, Hierarchical and Hybrid) of Inhertitance.

Can you give me simple example programs (basic like adding, substracting etc.) for understanding the concept so I can write some more complex programs.

Please .. please Help this helpless soul.;)

Thanks in advance.
(Note: It will be really great if I can get example programs 4 all kind of inheritance.)

QwertyManiac

Commander in Chief
Quiz_Master said:
multiplication, dividation etc
lol.

While small examples like addition, subtraction, etc can be used to illustrate the implementation of Inheritance, its not actually used for silly tasks like these.

Think on a larger scale like re-using an existing or abandoned project.

Suppose it has a class-based structure within. Now adding lines here and there would make it very shabby and tedious to move around. But you could instead create a new class and inherit all old existing classes with minimal editing. This would make your currently-in-writing code look more cleaner and also let you use the old program code's function and data without writing them all up again. This could be one use of Inheritance.

Why do you need codes, the diagrams you might have for the various types of inheritance should get you going?

OP
Quiz_Master

Quiz_Master

* Teh Flirt King *
Ahmmm... I know yaar... you are a genious... but kyaa karain.. I am not. :(

Read 1st line buddy... I am learning.. so wont it be easier if I start from basic programs??
Anyone else for help. :(

Faun

Wahahaha~!
Staff member
take a base class named employee

derive two child classes hourly employee and fixed employee