Graphics Cards related queries here.

Discussion in 'Graphic cards' started by geek_rohit, Jan 29, 2005.

  1. Zangetsu

    Zangetsu PM me for any queries in digirForum!

    Joined:
    Jan 8, 2008
    Messages:
    10,054
    Likes Received:
    152
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Soul Society
    Don't buy it.

    I heard that due to increase in size of DAG file people are selling their video cards. Looks like they are in for loss in Cryptocurrency
     
    quicky008 likes this.
  2. quicky008

    quicky008 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,536
    Likes Received:
    39
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Kolkata
    it seems the market is being flooded by a huge number of used gpus these days,particularly gtx 1060s-the owners of these cards usually claim that they were used only for a few months for "moderate gaming" only :|
     
  3. topgear

    topgear Fast 'N' Furious

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    18,796
    Likes Received:
    96
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Geek's Heaven
    Read Heavy Mining - Karma pays off .
     
  4. quicky008

    quicky008 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,536
    Likes Received:
    39
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Kolkata
    i am getting a used Asus R9 380 for about Rs 8000-the buyer claims its a new unit that he got from rma and has warranty remaining till march 2019-is it worth buying at this price?
     
  5. chimera201

    chimera201 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2015
    Messages:
    1,243
    Likes Received:
    107
    Trophy Points:
    63
    No.
     
    quicky008 likes this.
  6. Nerevarine

    Nerevarine Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    Messages:
    6,210
    Likes Received:
    234
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pune
    If it does have warranty till mar 2018, then maybe yes. You should assume GPU will be dead as soon as mar 2018 hits, then its a brick.
    So if Rs 8000, investment is good enough for you for a thing that will offer significantly better performance than low end new cards for Rs8k and will last till mar 2018, then yes go ahead
     
    quicky008 likes this.
  7. topgear

    topgear Fast 'N' Furious

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    18,796
    Likes Received:
    96
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Geek's Heaven
    it's March 2019 :D
     
  8. Xai

    Xai Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2012
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Kolkata
    How is after sales service for Nvidia Founders Edition handled in India? Any customer care centre in Kolkata?

    Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk
     
  9. topgear

    topgear Fast 'N' Furious

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    18,796
    Likes Received:
    96
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Geek's Heaven
    visit here : Customer Service | NVIDIA Online Store
     
  10. quicky008

    quicky008 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,536
    Likes Received:
    39
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Kolkata
    does zotac accept photo copies of the bill for Rma?A friend of mine had a zotac 1050ti that conked out recently,so he wants to send it for replacement,the only problem is he has lost the original bill that he had received from the shop during purchase.

    However he does have a xerox copy of that bill-will zotac's service center in kolkata accept it for RMA?
     
  11. Nerevarine

    Nerevarine Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    Messages:
    6,210
    Likes Received:
    234
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pune
    They should accept that, even scanned copies they are supposed to accept.
     
    quicky008 likes this.
  12. quicky008

    quicky008 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Nov 27, 2007
    Messages:
    1,536
    Likes Received:
    39
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Kolkata
    ^thanks a lot for confirming it-i will let him know this.

    Can they consider a bill to be fake if by any chance its a photocopy and not the original?
     
  13. Nerevarine

    Nerevarine Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Feb 6, 2011
    Messages:
    6,210
    Likes Received:
    234
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pune
    Actually they are supposed to check bill number and confirm with their database if the sl no of product sold matches.
    But in reality, these local shopkeepers rarely do that (if at all).
    IF they refuse to honor warranty, ask shopkeeper for duplicate bill. They should have record of it. If that doesnt work, raise hell in zotac facebook, twitter page.
     
    quicky008 likes this.
  14. The Sorcerer

    The Sorcerer oh wow...Xenforo!!!

    Joined:
    May 24, 2008
    Messages:
    2,411
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    It still depends through which AIB you're buying it from.

    The store owner keeps it for accounting purposes. Distributors have a record of all the serial numbers. However irrespective of the brand, in an unlikely situation where they can't find the serial number, they will need to see the physical bill- or tell you to speak to your dealer if he got through *ahem* ways.


    The better solution would be to file these bills. I am sure folks buy other stuff with warranties, too. So it shouldn't be too hard to keep a file to store all the bills in one place. BTW, shopkeepers keep records but its easier to pull if they keep records. Usually they do if its within that financial year- or two. . If they issue print bill, they can pull it back via the product's serial number. I had some of my friend's duplicate invoice given that way.
     
  15. Xai

    Xai Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2012
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Kolkata
    So I received my 2080 Founder's Edition card.

    Problem is it crashes every time I start a game. At most it crosses the title screen.

    Also pc has become quite slow even with a SSD, and 1 HDD is no longer showing up.

    Any idea what could be wrong? Maybe the PSU is not enough? I got a Corsair TX650.

    Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk
     
  16. chimera201

    chimera201 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2015
    Messages:
    1,243
    Likes Received:
    107
    Trophy Points:
    63
    ^ Maybe it's not properly installed? Check the connections. Did you update the drivers?
     
  17. Xai

    Xai Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2012
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Kolkata
    Had checked and reinstalled the card. Latest drivers are installed.

    Sent from my SM-G950F using Tapatalk
     
  18. chimera201

    chimera201 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2015
    Messages:
    1,243
    Likes Received:
    107
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Well it could be that the driver still needs some work or some other overlay software(discord, afterburner) is incompatible. But then you say 1 HDD is not showing up that could only point to PSU and its connectors. 650W should be enough though.
     
  19. Xai

    Xai Member

    Joined:
    Apr 2, 2012
    Messages:
    178
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Kolkata
    Yeah, I did not expect power consumption to exceed 450W. Guess I need to give the system a thorough dusting and re-connect everything to be sure.
     
  20. Pasapa

    Pasapa Live to die another day

    Joined:
    Jan 28, 2013
    Messages:
    692
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Kerala
    Does anyone know where i can find a list of Zotac service centres in India? I tried searching their website but couldnt find anything
     

Share This Page