Free Antivirus

bhoolkumehul

Broken In
My configuration is below

P 4 1.7 GHz
512 MB DDR RAM
windows XP Pro SP2
Mercury Mobo with onboard VGA

which Free or paid antivirus will easily run on this system?

topgear

Super Moderator
Staff member
I've been using Avira Antivir free since 2006.

another two alternatives you can try is avast home edition and AVG free edition - these two has offline update packs as well.

funkysourav

What The.... !!!
Use Avira Premium Security Suite for free
it has better update servers and update frequency and speed
and a "webguard"
you don't need to crack patch, it is legal :)

topgear

Super Moderator
Staff member
^^ you should have us the process or at least post the link to the method.

found it here

but you just can't use it for forever and it has 3 months license expiary date and you have to register for new license key and if the offers end there's no way to extend it further.

but in free version a valid license key is automatically obtained and it's valid for 6 months.

Is the premium method still working ??

BTW, we should really buy the premium version as it's the only method to pay the developers of this great Security suite or otherwise we should use the free version - IMO.

so Avira Free FTW!

^^even antivir has offline updates.

yep - it has just forgot to mention.

*www.avira.com/en/support-vdf-update-info

Last edited:

ravi_9793

TechTin.com
I have recently started using "Microsoft Security Essential" with comodo firewall on few systems and I am loving it.

Its very light, easy to use and effective.

Last edited:

funkysourav

What The.... !!!
Additionally
download Comodo Free Firewall,
MBAM as Ajai has suggested,Super Anti-Spyware and Hitman Pro,
Sandboxie(sandbox your browser)
Prevx Safeonline(Facebook x64)
WOT
Lastpass(free intuitive password manager)

I am telling you all this because?
Antivirus is never quite enough :-D

Last edited:

Cool Buddy

Wise Old Owl