Firmware Request

Discussion in 'Mobiles and Tablets' started by jrsc, Jun 3, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. jrsc

    jrsc New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 2, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Firmware upgrade for Nokia 6630 available in India.i heard latest firmware released for N6630 let me how to do it.
     
  2. mehulved

    mehulved 18 Till I Die............

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India, Mumbai, Marine Lines
    You can check it at Nokia Care shop. They will do the upgrade free if your phone is still in warrany period.
     
  3. maharajadhiraj

    maharajadhiraj New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata
    I got a 6630 5-6 weeks back. Are you sure the new firmware is launched. Could you please give more details.
     
  4. Gaurav

    Gaurav Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2004
    Messages:
    483
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Delhi/NCR
    what actually happens after upgrading the firmware of your mobile..... where it is done. can it be done from home..?
     
  5. mobilegeek

    mobilegeek New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    660
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi ..Phone: Nexus S White, ICE 520D
    Every feature is same after upgrade .. new firmware is done for better support n working of the cellphone
    With 99.9% certainty that after that you can throw you phone in dustbin.
    firmware update require seperate hardware ..why spend wen it can be done for free at any Nokia Care Centre
     
  6. maharajadhiraj

    maharajadhiraj New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata
    Hey mobilegeek Please be more specific. Can you tell me where is Nokia Care Centre in Kolkata. I wanna inquire and if possible get it upgraded.

    But whats the advantage of upgrading????
     
  7. montsa007

    montsa007 ~Bulletproof Monk~

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Messages:
    1,180
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    buddy firmware upgrade means bug fixes ur fone is more smooth

    and no it cannot be done at home u need the cable (not the data cable) its like a matchbox plugged in ur battery and somethin is done and voila its done ur fone is upgraded
     
  8. mobilegeek

    mobilegeek New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    660
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi ..Phone: Nexus S White, ICE 520D
    maharajadhiraj

    u got a new phone .. u are askin.. for firmware upgrade
    ..
    IS THERE ANY PROBLEM IN YOUR CELL ??
    ..
    FIRMWARE is reinstalled if .. there is a problem & a bug is fixed.. not otherwise.
    its like drivers...u dont need one evryday & newupdates are rare

    &

    Press *#0000# to know the software version of your phone
    u dont need to worry .. it should be something 5.03.xx

    mine is 4.03 & its working fine
     
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2006
  9. montsa007

    montsa007 ~Bulletproof Monk~

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Messages:
    1,180
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    no buddy it is always good to keep ur fones firmware upgraded
     
  10. montsa007

    montsa007 ~Bulletproof Monk~

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Messages:
    1,180
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    no buddy it is always good to keep ur fones firmware upgraded
     
  11. mobilegeek

    mobilegeek New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    660
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi ..Phone: Nexus S White, ICE 520D
    I am not sayin that .. but people take it as something ki .. it will add some new software or feature to phone .. thats not the case.
    in his case he got a new phone .. if its working fine there is no need for that. isnt it.
    I get my ph updated .. only If i get time .. which will not be soon.
     
    Last edited: Jun 5, 2006
  12. mobilegeek

    mobilegeek New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    660
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi ..Phone: Nexus S White, ICE 520D
    And yes ...

    The latest version of 6630 is 6.03.08, but I dont think its available here.. they are lazy .. If anyone got post here.

    b4n
     
  13. maharajadhiraj

    maharajadhiraj New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Messages:
    250
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata
    I pressed *#0000# and here's what it showed

    v 5.03.08
    17-08-05
    RM-1
    Nokia 6630
     
  14. montsa007

    montsa007 ~Bulletproof Monk~

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Messages:
    1,180
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    buddy firmware cannot be upgraded at home and dont risk ur mobiles life by doin so
     
  15. Gaurav

    Gaurav Member

    Joined:
    Mar 25, 2004
    Messages:
    483
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Delhi/NCR
    OK OK that was just a question man. one more thing will all my data be lost if i upgrade my firmware through nokia care. or it can be backed up and restored easily.
     
  16. mobilegeek

    mobilegeek New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    660
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi ..Phone: Nexus S White, ICE 520D
    Phone memory will be deleted ..
    MMC will be safe .. they will give u the mmc
    ..
    Yes you can take the back up ..
    1st .. go to contacts>options>copy to mmc
    2nd .. inbox ..> options>other>memory in use>mmc
    ..
    And 3rd .. Go to Organiser>MemoryCard>options>Back up phone memory

    You are done :D
     
  17. montsa007

    montsa007 ~Bulletproof Monk~

    Joined:
    Nov 9, 2004
    Messages:
    1,180
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    yes dude but when u reset the fone memory all apps installed in ur mmc are useless i installed profiexplorer(cracked) on my qd

    then pressed *#7370#
    then when i opened the profiexlorer it restarted my fone

    "in short a home made virus 4 ur cell"
     
  18. mobilegeek

    mobilegeek New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2005
    Messages:
    660
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi ..Phone: Nexus S White, ICE 520D
    Nothing happens to anything installed in mmc
     
  19. popper1987

    popper1987 New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2005
    Messages:
    40
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
    No Offence To Above Moble Geeks .if You Dont Know What Is Firmware Then Dont Speak About It.
    Firmware-it A Virtual Host Environment Used On Series (60,70,90....)
    And Many Symbian Based Cell Phones

    It Can Be Easily Upgraded By Using Just Your Data Cable ,and A Software Named Phoneix(with The Mobile Firmare ) Which Can Be Easily Fetched Online
     
  20. amol48

    amol48 Searching...

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2004
    Messages:
    387
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    PUNE
    @ montsa007

    Firmware can DEFINATELY be upgraded at home... i had moto E398 and i had upgraded it firmware at home only .. and it does not need separate hardware jus a USB cable, some software and the firmware ... Thats all !!!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page