Developing for a 13 Year Old.

TheLetterD

Will Power
Hello
My younger brother is 13 years old. We bought him a PSP years ago, all he keeps on Doing is looking up Youtube Vid.s , customizing the software adding mods and stuff, for eg. he got a Mod to use PSP as a PC Remote.
Nowadays he keeps looking for GTA San Andreas Mods cuz thats the only Game I have on my PC(I didnt get a graphic card cuz I didnt want another distraction)
Well, I want him to do something constructive, and I thought ... why Not Developing.
I am a total noob to developing too. I dont know anything at all about it, well except HTML,taught to us in school, class 7(100 Marks! :D )

So my question is:
Is there any software developing that he could get into which is:
1. Interesting
2. Does not consume a lot of time, I want it to be a part of his life, not his life.
3. Doesnt require any pre-requisite knowledge

He seems interested in Modding Android Custom ROMS and creating phone apps.
I know thats .. a bit too much for a 13 year old who doesnt know wny of those languages (JAVA, C and stuff)
And if he CAN make apps and stuff, what does he need to learn first?

Please help!
Thankyou. :)

krishnandu.sarkar

Simply a DIGITian
Staff member
Well if he's fond of Custom ROM's and all, you can motivate him to learn and use Linux instead of Windows. In this way he can get into ROM Development.

If he's interested in Phone Apps, you need to specify for which platform.

If it's Android, make him learn Java and then Android Application Development.

You mentioned "Does not consume a lot of time", but development always consumes lot of time because it needs practice to get into real world development.

Well this is the shortest answer, there can be diff views.

Ridwan Shafi

Life.Gadgets.Awesomeness