cd rom not workin..

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by anil_861, Sep 1, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. anil_861

    anil_861 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    help me guys........

    no cd-rom is seen in the my computer panel and also in device manager... i had alos tried by adding new hardware option , but it didnt work. wat to do??????????????
     
  2. sknowonweb

    sknowonweb New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CHENNAI
    Re: help me guys........

    Open up ur CPU . try plugging the drive to some other power and data cable .
     
  3. ravi_9793

    ravi_9793 TechTin.com

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Messages:
    4,139
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    LocalHost
    Re: help me guys........

    i think ur xp has been crupted...by missing sm files.This may has happened due to improper shutdown.
    try restoring the system to its best know time.
    This may solve ur problem......other thing u can do is remove the drive than start the xp..than shut down..and now plug drive into the cabinet..
    Now start the window...xp sud find the new device n will install it automatically.(as it is simple plug and play device).

    and at last u have 2 reinstall the xp.
     
  4. dOm1naTOr

    dOm1naTOr Wise Old Owl

    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2005
    Messages:
    4,152
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    shhhh!!!!! on a sniper point
    Re: help me guys........

    If it was workin earlier then its some windows problem. Otherwise check the jumper seting at the back of the drive.
     
  5. ranjikvp

    ranjikvp New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Re: help me guys........

    does the CDROM light come one when you restart the computer, if yes try system restore if doesn't work then follow steps mentioned by sknowonweb above, if it still does not resolve the issue replace drive
     
  6. OP
    OP
    anil_861

    anil_861 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Re: help me guys........

    cd-rom opens when i push the buttons,seems no problem in rom.. so tell wat 2 do
     
  7. k_blues24

    k_blues24 New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    227
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Thane
    Re: help me guys........

    First u have 2 check the cods of ur CD-ROM u have to open Cabinet unplug it and then reinstall/plug it as it is. If this not works then this may be problem of ur windows system file so u have to re-install it choose repair installation.
    If this not works then check jumpers on CD-ROM ( this all informations on the pack of the CD-ROM / back of CD-ROM itself ).
    tell us wat u have done ok
     
  8. OP
    OP
    anil_861

    anil_861 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Re: help me guys........

    boss how can i reinstall xp. as cd-rom is not working...
     
  9. ilugd

    ilugd Beware of the innocent

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,009
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Re: help me guys........

    most probably loose cable connection. Can you see the cd drive in bios?
     
  10. OP
    OP
    anil_861

    anil_861 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Re: help me guys........

    ya no cd-rom was shown in bios... wat 2 do. only primary master -hard disk is seen. not other thing...
     
  11. OP
    OP
    anil_861

    anil_861 New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 30, 2006
    Messages:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    no cd-rom is seen in the my computer panel and also in device manager... i had alos tried by adding new hardware option , but it didnt work. wat to do??????????????
    also no was shown in bios set up.. only hard disk is seen.. tell me wat 2 do.. i had checked jumper , its all ok...
     
  12. Rollercoaster

    Rollercoaster -The BlacKCoaT Operative-

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,206
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dehradun, India
    u need to chech the IDE cable and the bios option.
     
  13. sknowonweb

    sknowonweb New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 10, 2005
    Messages:
    134
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CHENNAI
    Re: help me guys........

    If your CD rom is undetected in Bios , change the datacable and Power cable. plug it to some other IDE slot . If it doesnt detected now , then i fear there is some serious problem in your CD rom .
    If possible connect your CD Rom with some of your Friends computers or call your computer service centre .

    May you Post what are the steps you take as our members suggested ,just for a clear identification to spot the solution .
     
  14. ravi_9793

    ravi_9793 TechTin.com

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Messages:
    4,139
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    LocalHost
    if.....this problem is due to Xp ..than try reinstalling the xp.And during re-install the cd rom will work.
    Try it.
    This will also check wether ur xp is problem..or something else is problem.
     
  15. Sourabh

    Sourabh Laptoping

    Joined:
    Aug 15, 2004
    Messages:
    2,206
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Hey, just reset the BIOS to defaults and boot into Windows and hopefully you will see a 'New Hardware Found'.
     
  16. ranjikvp

    ranjikvp New Member

    Joined:
    May 25, 2006
    Messages:
    13
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Check how many data cables are available inside, if two, you can use the hdd cable to connect the cd-rom too and check if its getting detected in BIOS or get a new data cable and check in BIOS if the CD-ROM is getting detected
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page