Basic questions on Ubuntu

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sridhar_Rao

In the zone
Sorry, if this question is redundant. Since I am new to linux (recently installed ubuntu) I want answer to these three questions, I am aware that linux is a safe OS.

1) Is there absolutely no requirement for a firewall as well as a antivirus program?
2) Can I surf the net without fear of any kind?
3) Is linux totally fool-proof to keyloggers and rootkits?

Is there any security related tip you might want to give me?

Yes Yes and Yes
Although there are some companies inve$ting in AV$ for Linux, there are a handful of viruses, but they can ONLY cause the smallest, repairable damage to your system AFAIK
My tip: Dont go on looking for you-know-what you-know-where and you'll be fine :D

Garbage

God of Mistakes...
You CAN use Firewall..
You CAN install AntiVirus...
Unless you gives your username / passwords / names / emails freely on Internet, you can surf without fear on Linux...

I've never used Firewall, Antivirus on Linux. n Still feeling safe... :)

OP
Sridhar_Rao

Sridhar_Rao

In the zone
Ok fine, so it is ok to have them installed (...just in case!!), but which ones and where can I download them? Also do let me know how to install them too.

Cool G5

Conversation Architect
Ok fine, so it is ok to have them installed (...just in case!!), but which ones and where can I download them? Also do let me know how to install them too.

You seem to be unsatisfied with the replies :razz:

There is absolutely no need of firewall or an antivirus as said by many above.
Also the antivirus packages for linux are not that effective. Another reason is linux viruses are not so common, even if you get infected(very rare -0.01%) the virus won't be that strong to do any great damage.

Inspite of the above, if you wish to purchase an antivirus look at various software vendors like Mcafee etc.

ray|raven

Think Zen.