AMD APU Vs Traditional CPU+GPU combination : which should I go for?

kamal4883

Broken In
Hello folks. I am planning to built a PC. For this first I have to decide on CPU. And here I got confused when I encountered AMD APU. Which should I go for considering my following needs. :

1. Want to use a 21 inch 1080p monitor.
2. Want to watch full HD movies.
3. Want to play Diablo 3.
4. Want to edit photos in photoshop. The photos are taken at 20Mpx or lower.
5. Sometimes Want to use desktop few days long without shutting it down to prevent overhearing issue. This may be due to transferring bigger files on net as I have a very slow internet connection 512 KB/s Down and 512KB/s Up speed so for example uploading 10 Gb of videos will take a while. .

For now I have my eyes on AMD APU A10 6800k but I have never used a apu before so I am hesitating. Also I am willing to invest on traditional CPU +GPU combination. My whole budget is 45000 which May be stretched by 1-2 thousand if required. According to budget I think I can't go for processor like i7 but I think I can opt for 4th gen i3 or i5.

On the side note: I am mostly a software guy never built a PC by myself before as I always used a laptop. But first time I am very excited to build my own PC by getting help from folks on internet and tutorials.

topgear

Super Moderator
Staff member
idle and load power consumption of a core i3 / core i5 cpu + gfx card will be almost similar and for running th pc 24 hours for a few days you better invest in a after market cpu cooler and a good cabinet with plenty of air flow ..

Coming to the performance part the gpu core of A10 6800k is capable enough to handle your gaming and movie watching needs and you can always add a gpu later if you need one.

OP
K

kamal4883

Broken In