8GB iPhone to cost Rs 31,000, 16GB for 37,000

Pat

Beyond Smart
And the rest of his points are crap too. Just because you agree doesn’t make them right.

Use an iPhone for a month and get used to its email capabilities and Twitter clients and video quality and then try to live with a Nokia N82 or Blackberry. Let’s see you saying that both of them are the same (or even remotely similar) after that. Play Enigmo on the iPhone and try going back to those petty N-Gage games on that tiny screen. They’re not even in the same league.

Thats what many people find hard to accept. In my opinion, iPhone is a truly revolutionary device.

As far as windows-mobiles are concerned, trust me. I have explored this platform a lot. IMO, its a lot better than symbian, but does not come close to iPhone's OSX.

how much it will cost if sumone brings' from usa .will it be unlocked or locked? can i get it unlocked reading some site on net?

The prepaid aka iPhone 3G without contract is available for $599 plus taxes in US. Mind you, it is still locked to AT&T.

You can get unlocked iPhone 3G from Italy or Hongkong. But they will cost you an arm and leg ;)

^^ He said its bye bye for you. He owns an iPhone & in all probability will get this one too once the dust settles. ;)

This just in. Engadget launches i.engadget.com. Specially for the iPhone.

For obvious reasons, we're not really big believers in optimizing Engadget for individual devices or platforms. Despite the unrelenting number of requests for an iPhone-optimized version of Engadget, we thought we'd let Apple stand by its whole "the real internet in your pocket" thing. And then we ran the numbers. We could hardly believe it.

So far in 2008, the iPhone, iPhone 3G, and iPod touch account for some 95.8% of all mobile views on the site. We're not even kidding. It's pretty hard to argue with something like that, so we're rolling out a new beta version of Engadget optimized for the iPhone at i.engadget.com. (Don't worry, we'll still be keeping m.engadget.com active, too.) Please feel free to let us know what you think in comments!

Could this have anything to do with the iPhone's awesome browsing experience? Well, like they say, you never know…

“ure n idiot really.wat awsum browsin xpereince??? dnt u know evn k750i n n82 browse internt lik iphonedo?! theres no diff. n if u think dere is, u a stupid fanboy...so wat if browsin internt 4m any phone not lik iphone is so much PITA no1 evn bothers tryin 2 n 95% of all views 2 genrl tech news blog 4m iphone. dats no coz other mobile phones sux, its coz they all busy txt fwdin n no hav time 2 crapzz. & iphone cant do dat...lolzzz....iphone sux,apple sux,ur fanboi. lolzzzlolz”

There, gx_saurav, I just made your job a whole lot easier.

moshel

So why do you think Indians are becoming more demanding and ready to pay more than they earn? Probably you can ask that question to yourself. Why do you want to buy something that you really don't need and more importantly, you can't afford?

I guess most of the people posting here saying that they are not going to buy the iphone, are not saying it because they cant afford it. It is because 31000/- for a phone is absurd. and the iphone is not a value for money product at that price. Even if i get 31k to throw away i would invest in a good music system rather than a mobile with an inflated price.

on another note, i feel its not worth spending more than 20k on a mobile, or a max 25k.

hellgate

At Hell's Disq
“ure n idiot really.wat awsum browsin xpereince??? dnt u know evn k750i n n82 browse internt lik iphonedo?! theres no diff. n if u think dere is, u a stupid fanboy...so wat if browsin internt 4m any phone not lik iphone is so much PITA no1 evn bothers tryin 2 n 95% of all views 2 genrl tech news blog 4m iphone. dats no coz other mobile phones sux, its coz they all busy txt fwdin n no hav time 2 crapzz. & iphone cant do dat...lolzzz....iphone sux,apple sux,ur fanboi. lolzzzlolz”

chalo bhai kisi ne to sach bat bataya.:D

2morrow all the Indian news channels will be abuzz with the news of how good (oohh sorry i mean how bad :D) the iphone is selling in the Indian market and all.

Boycott iPhone:x
whatever the situation is don't buy a iPhone from Vodafone and airtel. they have formed a cartel and are looting customers by charging three times the price:rolleyes:

better get one phone from outside(if you want one) and use it here with other 3G Providers.

There, gx_saurav, I just made your job a whole lot easier.
*s269.photobucket.com/albums/jj44/visio159/Unismilies/17large.png

Maverick340

# Q: What is the price of iPhone?
> 8 GB (Black) for Rs 31000
> 16GB (White & Black) for Rs 36100
# Q: Do we have 3G in India?
> No we don’t have 3G in India.

yes YES if i had money to throw, i would buy it. It has style, premium user experience, 2% better browsing experience. So its going to be a elite toy - not a common phone for the mass. If apple/airtel are happy with this strategy good for them. They will be happy , we will be- the sky wont fall.
..maybe a few might get banned on this forum ;-)

raksrules

Several people in my office have got message that they can make the down payment of Rs. 10000 at Croma outlets in Malad and others in Mumbai for the iPhone

Some people have got this thru email:

To celebrate the launch of the iPhone 3G in India, we will be opening three of our Airtel stores, one each in Delhi, Mumbai and Bangalore at the stroke of midnight 12.00am (Friday Morning) on August 22nd

have nothing to say about the iPhone that hasn’t been said already. Apple made it very clear what they were offering: a carrier-locked, closed-development mobile computing device where every aspect of the user experience would be controlled by Apple. I’m told it can also make phone calls. If that’s what you want, then buy it. If not, then don’t. If you want an iPhone without the phone, buy an iPod Touch, but it doesn’t run third-party applications either. (So much for the “network security” argument, but never mind that.)

Buy it for what it is, or don’t buy it at all. Your choices don’t get any more granular than that. Apple has been unwaveringly clear that the iPhone is theirs. Not yours, not Ambrosia’s, not J. Random Hacker’s. You may own the hardware, but you only have a limited license to use the software, and an ongoing contract to use the network. If you don’t like those terms, your only recourse is to shop somewhere else to begin with.
Read on...........

^^wot ?
I mean try to understand from no-business POV and as a common man who like to enjoy freedom no matter how small it is !

“If you want an iPhone without the phone, buy an iPod Touch, but it doesn’t run third-party applications either.”

Come again? :?