XP or Vista

Status
Not open for further replies.

INS-ANI

In the zone
Hi guys, I have a query.
I have just booked an inspiron 1420.
As i have no experience with vista, i request you to share urs.
I expect XP to run faster than vista on 1 GB RAM. Beside With vista i may face problem with compatibility, especially mp3 and MS office!
I am an electronics and telecommuncation engineering student.

iMav

The Devil's Advocate
Hi guys, I have a query.
I have just booked an inspiron 1420.
As i have no experience with vista, i request you to share urs.
I expect XP to run faster than vista on 1 GB RAM. Beside With vista i may face problem with compatibility, especially mp3 and MS office!
I am an electronics and telecommuncation engineering student.

go for vista its a great OS and on the dell 1420 it is pretty good and no such thing as compatibility problem withoffice and mp3 - where did u hear that from :?

PS: are u using any elex softwares?

anispace

dattebayo
why would u face compatibility problems with mp3.. even win95 can play mp3s? MS Office also should run perfectly. some programs may face probs but u can mostly use the compatibility mode to run them.

regarding elex softwares.. i think MATLAB(thats what most EXTC guys use atleast in MU) runs fine.. though havnt tried running it.

Choto Cheeta

Rebooting
INS-ANI said:

Strange question ... as already said by many, you should not face any problem under playing MP3 or using MS Office back till version Office XP :)

and Vista comes bundle with 1420 i guess... no need to spend another Rs. 6k for XP Pro :)

OP
INS-ANI

INS-ANI

In the zone
go for vista its a great OS and on the dell 1420 it is pretty good and no such thing as compatibility problem withoffice and mp3 - where did u hear that from :?

PS: are u using any elex softwares?

Yes i wil be using some elex s/w. but mostly it will be MATLAB, Mutisim, etc.
U got any experience with that?