Windows Vista RTM 6000

Discussion in 'Software Q&A' started by ankitsagwekar, Nov 23, 2006.

?

Can u like to run vista on ur Computer?

Poll closed Nov 24, 2006.
  1. Yes

    15 vote(s)
    62.5%
  2. No

    2 vote(s)
    8.3%
  3. Not Enough Hardware to run Vita

    7 vote(s)
    29.2%
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. I put Build 6000, which has been expected to be identical to or closely track the initial shipping version of Vista, through its paces


    Here's a quick report card.

    Installation:6/10

    The 64-bit version installed proceeded most of the way, but couldn't complete, so my inference is there are still some driver issues. Much as I enjoy working Sundays, I gave up after 90 minutes
    As I expected, the 32-bit version installed like a champ, loading from scratch in 42 minutes. I still had to muck around a little with my display settings

    Look and Feel: 10/10

    Vista's Aero interface remains one of its strongest suits. I looked askance at Aero because I felt it so clearly elevated form over functionality.
    Aero's form is its functionality. Add to Aero the Flip 3D feature, which lets you rapidly scroll through your open apps, and you've got one fun and friendly UI.

    Overall:5.5/10

    My biggest Vista surprise was, struggle though I might, I couldn't find much significantly different from previous versions. Then it dawned on me: That's a good sign, because it indicates that Microsoft's focus is no longer on look and feel but rather on the software guts required to keep Vista from crashing.
    __________
     
    Last edited by a moderator: Nov 24, 2006
  2. Tech Geek

    Tech Geek Wise Old Owl

    Joined:
    Sep 21, 2006
    Messages:
    1,602
    Likes Received:
    18
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Cyber Hell
    I want to install it but i do not have the needed hardware for it.
    I will have to wait for my mother to buy a new PC for me till march 08:mad:
     
  3. overclocker

    overclocker New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 28, 2006
    Messages:
    115
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    intel inside
    Same to u I wanna run Vista on my computer but haaaaa my hardware configuration does not support.
     
  4. optumsprime

    optumsprime New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2006
    Messages:
    61
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    CYBER WORLD
    i am buying c2d within two days the i check my hardware is supported or not .
     
  5. samrulez

    samrulez New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,334
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Still stuck on RC2.. :( will be getting the RTM only after 10 days.. :cry:
     
  6. CINTEL ENTRINO

    CINTEL ENTRINO Loading . . . please d'nt

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    IMC
    vista is crap .... eats away ur resources :(
    n moreover as u said ..... its the same as previous OS es.... so will try long longgggggggg time after :D
     
  7. caleb

    caleb New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Messages:
    578
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    I am surprised at ppl like u who refer 2 everything that they don't like as "crap" without even trying it...maybe it's the case of "sour grapes" story.
     
  8. ravi_9793

    ravi_9793 TechTin.com

    Joined:
    Jun 22, 2005
    Messages:
    4,139
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    LocalHost
    I will give vista overall point as 7/10.
    I would have given mor than 7 points...but i havt used aero theme,and vista flip flop property.It is simply fast n smooth with better user interface...n much improved security.
     
  9. tarey_g

    tarey_g Hanging, since 2004..

    Joined:
    Aug 21, 2004
    Messages:
    3,360
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    hanging..
    I am unable to understand the poll question !!

     
  10. kumarmohit

    kumarmohit New Member

    Joined:
    May 23, 2005
    Messages:
    2,167
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Riding an Oliphaunt
    Me Niether, I mean "Can you Like to run Vista" You just like something or not. There is no Can or Could in liking.

    It should have been either:

    Will u like to run vista on ur Computer?

    OR

    Can u run vista on ur Computer?
     
  11. OP
    OP
    ankitsagwekar

    ankitsagwekar Guest

    correction third QUESTION
    Not Enough Hardware to run Vita -> Not Enough Hardware to run Vista
     
  12. AshishSharma

    AshishSharma Livin' in the ghetto

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hmm .... Home
    I've Vista RC2 as well as Win XP installed on my system and Vista is the faster and more stable of the two as of now .. waiting for Office RTM to come out nd then I'll Wipe the Win XP off my Laptop.
     
  13. hemant_mathur

    hemant_mathur -- No Easter Eggs here --

    Joined:
    Apr 14, 2006
    Messages:
    945
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Front of my pc
    I use RC1 and like it .. more stable than xp on my system.
     
  14. CINTEL ENTRINO

    CINTEL ENTRINO Loading . . . please d'nt

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    IMC
    no mate.... why not try LINUX for a change ... nobody likes to b dictated upon :cool:
     
  15. AshishSharma

    AshishSharma Livin' in the ghetto

    Joined:
    May 17, 2006
    Messages:
    309
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Hmm .... Home
    Guys I am a Linux Supporter myself but there are times when singing the Linux song is completely uncalled for.... So stick to the topic and address the issue in hand only ...
     
  16. dissel

    dissel Active Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    823
    Likes Received:
    33
    Trophy Points:
    28
    Location:
    Kolkata
    I already Installed 32 bit ultimate edition and run it...in my configuration.here is the Screen shot.

    [​IMG]
     
  17. caleb

    caleb New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2006
    Messages:
    578
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    I just got a hold of Ubuntu & I'm going try loading it on my external usb hdd bu I feel it'd b unfair 4 me to call ubuntu crap without trying...in the same token it's unfair to call vista crap. Also just bcoz Windows...
    ?__________
    ?is financilly sucessful & the developers command increased prices & customers r willing 2 pay 4 it does not eqaute it being "dectated upon". You may b right that linux is better but that still does not make vista crap...millions of ppl who'll use (or r using) r a proof for it.
     
    Last edited: Nov 25, 2006
  18. akshayt

    akshayt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    RC1 is more stable but no where as fast as XP. How can you call RC2 faster than XP, your rig?
     
  19. CINTEL ENTRINO

    CINTEL ENTRINO Loading . . . please d'nt

    Joined:
    Aug 29, 2006
    Messages:
    235
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    IMC
    c'mon ......... now why dont u just leave it now.
     
  20. QwertyManiac

    QwertyManiac Commander in Chief

    Joined:
    Jul 17, 2005
    Messages:
    6,656
    Likes Received:
    10
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It isnt Vista that is crap, its paying for an OS's features that another gives for free which makes it crap.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page