Windows Longhorn

Status
Not open for further replies.

ojha_riddhish

Broken In
Hi friends! I am a newbie here. I wish everybody a very happy and wishful day. Best of Luck!
Recently my friend gave me a CD containing Windows Longhorn Alpha Setup in a folder. The CD is not bootable. And I want to install & experience Longhorn. Can anybody help me in this matter? I tried to create a bootable CD with Nero but it was not useful. I used the default boot disk contained in Nero as I don't have a Floppy Drive. When I boot from that CD, it shows Dr-DOS booting and its command line utility. How do I start the Longhorn Setup?
Any help would be commendable. Please help me1

ravi_9793

TechTin.com
order your beta DVD ..or Download from here:
*www.microsoft.com/technet/prodtechnol/beta/lhs/default.mspx

goobimama

 Macboy
Is this a joke or something? Why would someone use Longhorn, a buggy and pre-beta OS which has now been renamed Vista...?

praka123

left this forum longback
goobimama said:
Is this a joke or something? Why would someone use Longhorn, a buggy and pre-beta OS which has now been renamed Vista...?
:D:eek:
True.
Windows Vista is a line of graphical operating systems used on personal computers, including home and business desktops, notebook computers, Tablet PCs, and media centers. Prior to its announcement on 22 July 2005, Windows Vista was known by its codename "Longhorn".[1]
*en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Windows_vista

goobimama

 Macboy
I'm thoroughly confused as to whether I'm right or wrong....though I'm more inclined towards believing that I'm wrong...

infra_red_dude

Wire muncher!
actually yes, there's a lot of confusion. longhorn was used for both the desktop version (which is now called vista) as well as for the server. now that the desktop version is out, longhorn is used only wrt the windows server 2008 since its supposed to be the same generation product as vista. but as always it has been delayed.

iMav

The Devil's Advocate