why does firefox eat too much memory

Discussion in 'Internet & WWW' started by anni, Jun 16, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. anni

    anni New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 4, 2008
    Messages:
    58
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I've noticed that firefox seems to want to continually eat more & more memory, even if I close all tabs that I had open, leaving just two or three (earlier, I had about six tabs max open, now just two) open. Closing all that doesn't affect memory, though ...why does firefox eat more memory & not return it until it's completely closed?. I already apply tweaks which one digit member mentioned under tutorial section. I am using latest firefox 3.0+ with windows xp prof sp2.
     
  2. paroh

    paroh Member

    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2008
    Messages:
    850
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    current updated version of firefox is 3.0.11 . If it still eats up memory in the updated version I will call it memory leakage.
     
  3. comp@ddict

    comp@ddict EXIT: DATA Junkyard

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5,106
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    How much RAM do u have? If 1GB or more, then WHY THE HECK are you complaining?

    And without add-ons and 5 tabs, mine on XP SP3 does it at 86MB sweet. I hardly call that moads of memory usage considering it's stellar performance and c'mon, it's FIREFOX!
     
  4. Dark Core

    Dark Core Freak Beta 1

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Nagercoil
    @anni
    Try disabling add-ons btw if u need a light-weight browser then Chrome will be ur best bet
     
  5. Anorion

    Anorion Sith Lord Staff Member Admin

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2008
    Messages:
    4,142
    Likes Received:
    200
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Plugins and add-ons.
     
  6. hell_storm2006

    hell_storm2006 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata, Nagpur, Pune
    Recent Firefox versions have become a bit heavy! And the more add-on's you have the memory it would eat up. Try using only the add-on's you need and uninstall the one's you don't.
     
  7. Aspire

    Aspire New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Messages:
    834
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Chrome's The Best
    But while browsing TDF i use Firefox with Neat Digit Forum Script enabled.
     
  8. Techn0crat

    Techn0crat RPG FTW!!!

    Joined:
    Mar 12, 2009
    Messages:
    156
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Current version 3.5 eats almost 95 MB.It's too much.
     
  9. Disc_Junkie

    Disc_Junkie Call me D_J!

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I am using 3.1b3 and it's eating 92.5MB of memory without any addons. I have opened 6 tabs though!
     
  10. hell_storm2006

    hell_storm2006 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata, Nagpur, Pune
    Mine is 3.0.11. Its eating 88.04 MB also!!! That's a bit high! But for browsing with Firefox i can spare the extra MB's! Its truly enjoyable!!! :smile: :smile:
     
  11. Dark Core

    Dark Core Freak Beta 1

    Joined:
    Dec 13, 2008
    Messages:
    219
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Nagercoil
    ^^
    +1 Surfing with FF s truly Enjoyable with lot of Addons, themes and so about...
    But think of PCs wth low configs - Using 88 MB's of Memory for a browser is crime [​IMG]
     
  12. MetalheadGautham

    MetalheadGautham AFK

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Messages:
    7,600
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    I too have a similar issue. 3 tabs open and 142MB.
    But if I start a new session the usage reduces.
    I think it has something to do with the feature which loads many things into RAM to make fetching faster. Because page load times are quite good here.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page