whole system upgrade or gfx card ??

Discussion in 'Graphic cards' started by hskpunjabi, Aug 30, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. hskpunjabi

    hskpunjabi New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    hi friends, i need to know that for gaming only (like call of duty series) do whole system should be upgraded( specs are p4 ht 3.06 Ghz+asus board with pci x 16 slot+2 gb ddr 400 ram)
    to some decent new system.......

    or a gfx card like hd 4670 should be enough with normal psu....can win 7 run on older systems ?
     
  2. hell_storm2006

    hell_storm2006 New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2008
    Messages:
    587
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata, Nagpur, Pune
    System upgrade... Big time!!!
     
  3. desiibond

    desiibond Bond, Desi Bond!

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    9,754
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    @hskpunjabi, at what resolution do you game?
     
  4. OP
    OP
    hskpunjabi

    hskpunjabi New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I have 17 inch crt monitor mainly resolution is 1024*768, game at even 800*600 is good 4 me
    i need gfx card mainly 4 mid range gaming,may be i buy a laptop as i'm out of home town 4 studies,so i don't want to spent any extra peny.
     
  5. max_demon

    max_demon IM AS MAD AS HELL!!

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,591
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    localhost
    sys upgrade , DDR2 is cheaper
     
  6. GeekyBoy

    GeekyBoy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    497
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata
    If you game at 1024x768 or 800x600, the buying just a Ati HD4670 makes more sense than a whole system upgrade.....it makes more sense since you are only gaming(its a pretty powerful card).....and only buying a grafix card is gonna cost you much lesser than a whole system upgrade.

    What type of SMPS do you have?
     
  7. max_demon

    max_demon IM AS MAD AS HELL!!

    Joined:
    Oct 15, 2006
    Messages:
    1,591
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    localhost
    wont be other components bottelneck the card ? also what if he gets spanking new LCD after few months ?
     
  8. GeekyBoy

    GeekyBoy New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 28, 2006
    Messages:
    497
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata
    To the thread opener(hskpunjabi): Please specify your budget properly for us to assist you in your upgrade......max_demon...you are right about the bottleneck....lets see what upgrade budget he has.
     
  9. OP
    OP
    hskpunjabi

    hskpunjabi New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    As i said before i may buy a basic laptop as i am out of town 4 study,so i am thinking of gfx card hd4670 as upgrade(found after reading review on net)
    i am upgrading home pc 4 gaming only like cod n' other fps games etc(p4 ht 3.06 ghz+2 gb ddr ram+asus board p5rd1-vm)
    so is selection right,i have normal 450 watt psu
     
  10. desiibond

    desiibond Bond, Desi Bond!

    Joined:
    Oct 9, 2007
    Messages:
    9,754
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    ^^ pick 9600GT instead of HD4670. one with GDDR3 memory is avialable for 4.7k
     
  11. acewin

    acewin Point Blanc

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,890
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    before any buy, check on your SMPS/PSU, it maybe already overloaded, if its a 300W PSU.

    buying 9600GT or HD4670 may result buying a new PSU too. choose wisely.
     
  12. OP
    OP
    hskpunjabi

    hskpunjabi New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i have 450 watt psu,, i have found a laptop while reading this forum
    Zenith SO Director Plus Ultra cost is around 33k as found in thread...comment on this
    Zenith SO Director Plus Ultra

    C2D 6500 2.1 Ghz (800 Mhz FSB, 2 MB L2 Cache)
    2 GB DDR2 Ram (667 Mhz)
    320 GB 5400 RPM SATA HDD
    Nvidia 9600 M GS 512 MB Dedicated Gfx card
    15.6" WXGA screen (1280X800 max Resolution)
    2 MP Webcam
    Bluetooth
    10/100/1000 Mbps LAN
    WiFi
    56 Kbps Modem
    3 in 1 Card Reader
    PCI Express expansion slot

    Built-in High Definition Audio – 2 Channel; 2 Stereo Speakers; 2 Omni-Directional Digital Microphones
    2 USB, 1 USB/E-sata combo
    and others.

    URL:http://www.zenithpc.com/zenithso-dir...sultra-bb.aspx
     
  13. comp@ddict

    comp@ddict EXIT: DATA Junkyard

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2008
    Messages:
    5,106
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    Go for propous quads and DX11 hardware coming next month!
     
  14. harishgayatri

    harishgayatri New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0

    Please answer these questions.

    1. What is the max RAM support for your board?
    2. Does your P4 3.06(assuming prescott) has support for 64 Bit?
    3. Are you a light or a heavy Gamer?
    4. What is the max resolution your monitor can support?

    Lastly how much can you spend for upgrading your current components?
     
  15. OP
    OP
    hskpunjabi

    hskpunjabi New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2007
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    1. 2 gb ram(ddr) supported n' i have 2 gb
    2. it has 64 bit + hyper threading(HT) support....bit old so should it b changed??
    3. i'm not a heavy gamer,games with medium or lower setting r fine....should be playable smoothly
    4.17'' Lg monitor currently running on 1024*768...may be it support 1280*600.....but if games can run fine on 800*600....they r welcomed

    if i have to change processor+ram+mboard.....budget will be around 10 k....i think rest parts can b used like(1 ide+1sata hd-disk,sony dvd rw...etc)

    i have plan to upgrade pc in December when my exams would be over,by then prices should fall
    ( as i heard they will after win 7 +dx 11 cards's launch)
     
    Last edited: Sep 14, 2009
  16. harishgayatri

    harishgayatri New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    It would be better to put HD4650/4670 as they com pretty Cheap.

    BTW your config is pretty good at least better than Mine which doesnot support 64 bit

    Don't sell it off after putting the Graphics Card, make an HTPC out of it.

    This is my config

    Intel Pentium 4 3.00Ghz HT enabled processor(Prescott)
    Intel D865GBF motherboard
    SoundMAX 1985 Digital Audio(6 channel)
    Sapphire ATi Radeon HD3650 512MB DDR2 AGP 8x
    Samsung IDE HDD 80GB
    Lite-ON DVDRom and Lite-On DVDRW
    1GB DDR 400Mhz (2x512MB) Dual Channel mode
     
  17. foruamit2004

    foruamit2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If you can sell your current Proccy+mobo+ram for ~ 3k (ram alone should go >1.4k) ..then you can pickup
    Mobo - Gigabyte G31 - 2.4k
    Proccy - E5300 - 3.4k
    Ram 2 Gb - 1.2k
    Gfx - Ati 4670/9600gt 4k

    Total - 11 - 3 = 8k .. but now you have good enough rig for next 2-3 years, and for your monitor resolution it will play most of the games at high settings.
     
  18. harishgayatri

    harishgayatri New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 21, 2008
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    foruamit2004 the prices of RAM has increased in past 2-3 months

    Transcend DDR1 1550

    Transcend DDR2 1650

    Corsair DDR2 1750

    Prices from Primeabgb
     
  19. gary4gar

    gary4gar GaurishSharma.com

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,094
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jaipur
    And you forgot to add 2-3k for PSU. don't risk using a el-cheepo junk on your hardware.
     
  20. foruamit2004

    foruamit2004 New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 10, 2009
    Messages:
    75
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    PSU, you have to buy anyway.. either if its existing system or new, all depends upon which GFx card you are going for and the current PSU that you own.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page