WD 200GB Not Being Detected - Help Needed

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by emmarbee, Oct 14, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. emmarbee

    emmarbee New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hi everybody,
    My Western Digital 200 Gb Hard Disk gone kaput. The last activity I did with the hdd was taking it to my friend's house and connected it in the e-SATA his system(Q6600+EP45DS3R). Later when I brought back and connected it to my system, it is not being deducted.

    What I Tried So Far:

    --> Connected it in different SATA port in the motherboard. Even connected it to the same port where my new 500 gb seagate is being connected and working properly).

    --> Tried it with a different SATA cable (the cable which was working fine with my new 500GB seagate HDD).


    --> WD200JS HDD also has another power option (MOLEX-4 PIN). SO I even tried different MOLEX-4PINs that comes from the SMPS. (In fact I was using this power option only, from the very beginning.)

    --> I took the HDD to my friend's system (another friend) and checked out in his system(D820+945).

    All the above methods showed no change. IT IS NOT BEING DETECTED IN THE BIOS itself.

    I checked out the Warranty for it. It is still there for 2 more years.

    But before giving it for RMA, I need to retrieve the files from the HDD. Is there any possiblity? Any help is much appreciated.
     
  2. Krow

    Krow Crowman

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    4,330
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    I doubt it. If you try, they will charge you sky high like 30k or so. Recovery rates are huge, plus no guarantee whether data will be recovered fully. I faced same prob with Seagate 500GB 7200.11 failure. :(
     
  3. OP
    OP
    emmarbee

    emmarbee New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2008
    Messages:
    217
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    OMG! And i thought it would be a cake walk, and thats the reason why I had posted in this forum.
    I expected replies like
    "the problem might be in the power connector of your hdd, so the datas won't be affected. You can connect it with an external case and then retieve your datas" . . .

    If only it had been something like that :(
     
  4. Fahd.Malik

    Fahd.Malik New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2006
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Did you tried it on the system of your friend( esata)?

    Is there any sort of movement felt when you switch it on? like temperature? vibration? sound?
     
  5. rhitwick

    rhitwick Democracy is a myth

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Messages:
    2,862
    Likes Received:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Kolkata
    Sad but true, there is no way u r getting back the data...

    I lost 930GB of data like that...

    Get it replaced and keep ur fingers crossed so that doesn't happen again.
     
  6. Krow

    Krow Crowman

    Joined:
    Mar 6, 2008
    Messages:
    4,330
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    500GB movies and 400GB of _____. Right? :mrgreen:
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page