Unable to Install any AV or run Online Scans

Discussion in 'Software Q&A' started by sumeet singh, Sep 7, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sumeet singh

    sumeet singh New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2006
    Messages:
    23
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Delhi
    Hi ppl,

    Recently my laptop started with weird problems...

    Task Manager was disabled.. Avast AV stopped coming in tray bar and was also unable to access it manually....

    Fixed Task Manager (Googled it) :
    Click on Start, Run and type the following command exactly and press Enter

    REG add HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Pol icies\System /v DisableTaskMgr /t REG_DWORD /d 0 /f

    That was fixed however Avast was not showing up.. wanted to run scan however was unable as Avast not working.. Tried updating and repairing from Add/Remove programs, no joy... So finally uninstalled it...

    Tried to run online scans but unable to run any....

    Installed "Hijack This".. unable to run.. gives error: windows unable to access the specific path or file or ext. .. u may not have appropriate permission to access the file..

    Tried Panda AV also.. It installed (With some errors like unable to rename some files) but failed to run..

    Ran combofix... it deleted some stuffs...

    Tried installing other AV and anti-spyware, adware, malware... but everytime getting error related to unable to change name of some files



    BTW, Panda is uninstalled now... and safe modes not working.. whenever I try safemodes, get blue screen and system restarts...

    Win XP SP2
    Compaq M2000

    What to do??

    Help:?
     
  2. rhitwick

    rhitwick Democracy is a myth

    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2004
    Messages:
    2,862
    Likes Received:
    47
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Kolkata
    Only remaining option is formatting ur sys, as I can see u've done pretty much everything that can be done.

    After new OS (xp?) installation, keep these as protection:-
    AVG8/Avira free edition+Adware Free edition+Malwarebyte's antimalware



    //my 1000th post :-D
     
  3. damngoodman999

    damngoodman999 damnbadman666

    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2008
    Messages:
    2,474
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    Coimbatore
    congrats on the 1000th post - Rhitwick
     
  4. rohitshubham

    rohitshubham Member

    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2008
    Messages:
    552
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    There is virus problem and the best way is to Format the computer now
     
  5. Disc_Junkie

    Disc_Junkie Call me D_J!

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Hmm...maybe you should give Noob Killer a try. Do a 8-X Kill and restart with it.
     
  6. shaunak

    shaunak Tux Fan

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2004
    Messages:
    1,218
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Mumbai
    +1 for a format. Its the most painless way of solving this. (Perhaps the only way.)
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page