ubunutu installation hanging

Status
Not open for further replies.

ayushman9

Journeyman
i am new to linux , and i got a ubunutu cd of version 7.10 free from some where . The cd is free of defect .I decided to test it using innotek virtualbox .i have alloted it a 2 gb hard disk space (dynamic) and 415 mb ram .Now the live cd boots (in the virtual enviorment ) properly and everything runs fine .When i try to install it ,i choose d whole hard disk option . The installation runs properly till 82% and then hang at some place called configuring/connecting mirror or some thing like that ,i tried 2 or 3 times it still hangs .

I am not able to take the risk of formatting as i have limited knowledge about linux file system .

How can i pass by these problem .

i have attached a screen shot if you want to view the stage
*img2.freeimagehosting.net/uploads/th.b227c528c5.jpg

Last edited:

praka123

left this forum longback
^sometimes,ubuntu finishes installation after this "82% completed" hang.
^also make sure ur partitions are OK.make sure "/" and swap of 400MB was made.
else,you have to get Ubuntu 7.10 version called "alternate CD" with text based debian installer which does the job fine.

debsuvra

is NOT a PC/Mac
i am new to linux , and i got a ubunutu cd of version 7.10 free from some where . The cd is free of defect .I decided to test it using innotek virtualbox .i have alloted it a 2 gb hard disk space (dynamic) and 415 mb ram .Now the live cd boots (in the virtual enviorment ) properly and everything runs fine .When i try to install it ,i choose d whole hard disk option . The installation runs properly till 82% and then hang at some place called configuring/connecting mirror or some thing like that ,i tried 2 or 3 times it still hangs .

I am not able to take the risk of formatting as i have limited knowledge about linux file system .

How can i pass by these problem .

i have attached a screen shot if you want to view the stage