Ubuntu Installation Problems

Discussion in 'Open Source' started by adit_sen, Aug 10, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. adit_sen

    adit_sen New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2004
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Perth, A*stralia
    Hi,

    I've been trying for the last couple of days to install ubuntu (dapper 6.0.6.1), but I'm getting stuck. The live cd takes really long to boot up, and once it does, I choose install, but it doesnt seem to insatall. The CD drive keeps spinning and reading, there is definitely some HDD activity, but even after leaving it for more than an hour nothing happens!

    I've even tried redownloading the ISO and burning it on a new CD, but the same problem presists.

    Please Help...

    cheers..
    aditya
     
  2. Pathik

    Pathik Google Bot

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    9,747
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i think thers some problem with ur cd drive...... u need to clean the lens of ur drive
     
  3. OP
    OP
    adit_sen

    adit_sen New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2004
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Perth, A*stralia
    hmm...i was thinking the same thing. what's the best way to clean my drive?
     
  4. Desmond David

    Desmond David Destroy Erase Improve

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2005
    Messages:
    5,779
    Likes Received:
    80
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Pune
    Are you trying to install from a Live CD??
    AFAIK, you can only run Live CDs and caannot install until it is a Live+Install CD. Ubuntu does not provide Live&Install CDs.
     
  5. JGuru

    JGuru Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,705
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Space-time continuum
    @Adit Sen, Are other bootable CDs of Linux distros or Windows O.S working fine
    while booting using the CD drive? Is it a problem only with Ubuntu Dapper (6.06.1)?
    Also the new version of Ubuntu you have downloaded may have bugs in it.
    So better wait for some more months before the product is fully tested.
     
  6. Rollercoaster

    Rollercoaster -The BlacKCoaT Operative-

    Joined:
    Mar 10, 2005
    Messages:
    1,206
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Dehradun, India
    why dont u create a temperary fat32 partition, save a iso of the disk and then install using 'askmethod'
     
  7. OP
    OP
    adit_sen

    adit_sen New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2004
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Perth, A*stralia
    @desmond david - ubuntu's install & live cd are the one and same thing

    @jGuru - haven't tried other distro's. cd drive works fine otherwise.

    @RollerCoaster - can you provide a little more specifics on how to go about the askmethod?
     
  8. Pathik

    Pathik Google Bot

    Joined:
    Aug 28, 2005
    Messages:
    9,747
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    @adit ubuntu has diff install and live cds.....
    @desmond he s getting the option to install that means he is using a install cd.
     
  9. kalpik

    kalpik In Pursuit of "Happyness"

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,002
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    ^^ Starting with dapper, they ship only one cd which is both live/install..
     
  10. Venom

    Venom New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 13, 2006
    Messages:
    240
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If its a DVD-RW you may have install issues but it wont hang, it will return an error instead!
     
  11. OP
    OP
    adit_sen

    adit_sen New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2004
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Perth, A*stralia
    well can anyone suggest what i do?
     
  12. praka123

    praka123 left this forum longback

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Messages:
    7,513
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    -
  13. OP
    OP
    adit_sen

    adit_sen New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2004
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Perth, A*stralia
    alrightey then...prolem solved!
    During bootup, I chose install in safe graphics mode and it worked like a charm. Thanks for everyone's help.

    Cheers
     
  14. mehulved

    mehulved 18 Till I Die............

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India, Mumbai, Marine Lines
    Do you have a separate graphics card? If yes, which one? Just asking so I would know of potential problems if needed in future.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page