Ubuntu Edgy problems

Discussion in 'Open Source' started by saurabh.sauron, Oct 27, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. saurabh.sauron

    saurabh.sauron New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Middle Earth
    i am facing problems while installing from the ubuntu disc. i press start or install ubuntu. then it starts the usual loading process and then hangs up. i am not able to install it via synaptic or command line also, are there any other methods to install what can be the cause of my problem. can edgy be installed via command line?
    pls help.
    thnx
     
  2. The Outsider

    The Outsider Beneath The Eyelids

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    how bout downloading the alternate install cd?
     
  3. OP
    OP
    saurabh.sauron

    saurabh.sauron New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Middle Earth
    will it allow me to install it properly? is it command line or is it a safer installation?
     
  4. The Outsider

    The Outsider Beneath The Eyelids

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2006
    Messages:
    289
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    never did it myself, saw a tutorial though, looks simple + yeah if desktop cd fails thats the recommended solution.

    i'm too downloading , only 22% done :(
     
  5. kalpik

    kalpik In Pursuit of "Happyness"

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,002
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    Hmm.. try starting in safe graphics mode. Otherwise as Chester suggested, download the alternate CD, that wont fail!
     
  6. OP
    OP
    saurabh.sauron

    saurabh.sauron New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Middle Earth
    i tried safe graphics mode but that didn't help. now downloading alternate CD. i think that canonical should make it optional to have graphical installation. i prefer the command line that was there in hoary and breezy. i never faced this problem in dapper. maybe coz it is due to my low end rig.
     
  7. praka123

    praka123 left this forum longback

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Messages:
    7,513
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    -
    it is available with ur edgy cd,see the last option while in boot screen,ie,other boot options...try giving the normal debian parameters available or may be already in cd menu.it may have got stuck due to non supported video card.or alternately u can move into other virtual terminal and edit /etc/X11/xorg.conf.


    what is your hardware..post it
     
  8. Zeeshan Quireshi

    Zeeshan Quireshi C# Be Sharp !

    Joined:
    Jun 9, 2006
    Messages:
    1,805
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Toronto
    wel till dapper , ubuntu live cd didn't work with my DRU 820A , but edgy works fine wven though it drags , i suggest you download the alternate installer cd n install using it .
     
  9. mAYHEM

    mAYHEM New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Nowhere
    I am also having this problem after the startup screen the screen goes blank with a blinking cursor.
     
  10. OP
    OP
    saurabh.sauron

    saurabh.sauron New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 19, 2006
    Messages:
    506
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Middle Earth
    i downloaded the alternate edgy cd and everything works perfectly now. from now on, i am going to download the alternative only. i like the text based installation.

    also, i cant use users and groups from the administration menu. is it a new feature that denies access to a normal user (even sudoers) to users and groups?
     
  11. praka123

    praka123 left this forum longback

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Messages:
    7,513
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    -
    it should work.type "sudo users-admin" it will popup.may be the menu 4 users and grops are not added properly.check by launching "alacarte" menu preferences.
     
  12. JGuru

    JGuru Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,705
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Space-time continuum
    @Saurabh.sauron, You must type the following command:

    $ gksu users-admin

    It should work now. Try it!!
     
  13. mAYHEM

    mAYHEM New Member

    Joined:
    Aug 17, 2004
    Messages:
    212
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Nowhere
    Anyone installed Ubuntu from hard disk.I am able to get the installation started but when it scans the partition for iso files it cant find any.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page