ubuntu 10.04 internet woes

Psychosocial

Violent serenity.
Okay I just installed 10.04. Let me tell you people that I am a Linux noob. I have had a bit of experience with previous distros but I am pretty much a newbie. So I setup 10.04 but I can't get my net to connect. It's working fine on Win7 (posting from it). It's a dsl connection. I use an ethernet wire to connect to the net.

I opened terminal and used the 'sudo pppoeconf' command and followed the instructions. This is how I used to get my net working on previous distros but it dosen't seem to work in 10.04. The terminal says that my connection is active but it isn't. The network manager icon isn't visible on the top panel.

I really want my net working. Any solutions ?

furious_gamer

Excessive happiness
System > Preferences > Network Connections. This is how i configure my network adapter in Ubuntu. FYI I am using the same distro as yours. I am not a network kinda guy but still i dont do anything apart from this to get it connect. Lets try that

OP
Psychosocial

Psychosocial

Violent serenity.
@rajkumar_pb :- That's the first thing I tried :).
@thewisecrab :- lemme check it out.

Btw installed wicd network manager. Did not help. :(

Liverpool_fan

Sami Hyypiä, LFC legend
You can configure your CPE to Autodial(PPPoE) mode if it is a router that is.

---------- Post added at 05:15 PM ---------- Previous post was at 05:09 PM ----------

If you had configured ppoeconf before, then just Install pppoeconf from CD

Insert Ubuntu CD

sudo apt-cdrom add
sudo apt-get install pppoeconf

OP
Psychosocial

Psychosocial

Violent serenity.
@Liverpool_fan and vignesh :- Thanks will try it.

@Liverpool_fan :- Anyway to do the same from a USB stick ?

Liverpool_fan

Sami Hyypiä, LFC legend
Ubuntu -- Details of package pppoeconf in lucid