Total Linux n00b, wants to shift to linux, HELP!!!

Status
Not open for further replies.

The Outsider

Beneath The Eyelids
I'm a total linux noob, got my free ubuntu 6.06 LTS cd 2 days ago so after playing with the live cd for 2 days now i wanna install it.

Heres what i have :
80 gb pata hdd, with win xp installed & all partitions are NTFS

What i want :
xp + ubuntu dual boot

so here goes the questions :
Pre-Installation :
1. how much space i should free up?
2. should i resize the partitions in windows itself by using some Disk management software or do it with ubuntu setup (at the tme of installation)?
3. i don't wanna lose my data so can anyone tell me how can i install it safely, without hasstles
4. if after the dual boot windows corrupt and i reinstall it, (i know grub will go and ubuntu will stop working) how to fix that thing?

Post-Installation :
1. after installation i heard that linux just shows up command line, if thats true how can i switch to the graphical mode?
2. in live cd i was unable to mount my partitions, will that remain the same in full installation too, if not how?
3. will i be able to play mp3s
4. how can i configure my dialup modem in linux, i have got its drivers for linux and i've also got few linux apps still no clue how to install an app in linux.

thanks in advance for your help, i know the reply will be a bit big but i'm sure some kind mate will help.

Last edited:

mehulved

18 Till I Die............
Chester said:
Pre-Installation :
1. how much space i should free up?
Atleast 10GB if you really want to make some good use of linux.
Chester said:
2. should i resize the partitions in windows itself by using some Disk management software or do it with ubuntu setup (at the tme of installation)?