softwares for programming

bestpain

good advicer
i am having i5 laptop with 4 gb ram,win7 64 bit....i am currently a btech 1st yr cse student and i am studying c language ,data structure currently ....i want to know is there any compiler available for windows other than turbo c in which i can practice c language ,data structure .....or i am wishing to install linux(have been using linux for programming in college labs) but i dont know how to install two o.s in my laptop,and also which version of linux is better to download.
i also want to use some vpn but the vpn drivers are not installing due to 64 bit o.s,when i installed 32 bit then only 2.27 ram is usable .....is there any other way to install those drivers.

> First of all, that "software for programming" is called IDE.

> For compiler, you have the choice of GCC (through MinGW or CygWin) or visual studio C++ compiler. You can use Codeblocks or Eclipse IDE with gcc however, to use visual studio compiler you need to use Visual Studio.

> Google for "windows 7 ubuntu dual boot".

meetdilip

Computer Addict
Get Linux Mint or Ubuntu, and choose option for install. Make a partition with decent size before you install. Both flavour have a installation wizard like Windows XP and allows you to choose where to install.

ankush28

Bazinga
+1 for Code::blocks with GCC compiler (Full package including MinGW is available on their page)

I like Ubuntu, Mint is also good.

cute.bandar

Cyborg Agent
.i want to know is there any compiler available for windows other than turbo c in which i can practice c language ,data structure
Google for tinyc compiler - small, light and easy to use , if you know how to use command line.

OP
bestpain

bestpain

good advicer
how is dev c++ ?
seriously guys i didnt understand whats MinGW or CygWin.....can u plz give me download link for the compiler
whats full form of ide?

icebags

Technomancer
install vmware in machine and install ubuntu / fedora in vmware.