Review: Enzotech Ultra-X cpu cooler

john_the_ultimate

No pain....No gain
Well finally had the time to write a short review for Enzotech Ultra-X cpu cooler. So without wasting any time, here we go.

I had ordered the cooler from sidewindercomputers and it took 9 days to reach me. Was really worried about the condition of the package but it was in excellent condition. The total cost including shipping was $105.99, didn't have to pay any custom duty or postage fee.

Sorry for the picture quality (its my 1.3MP Nokia 6630).

Specs of the cooler:
Dimension: 148*148*118mm

Weight : 835g

Fan : Delta Fan
120*120*25mm
Noise 38.5 dB-A (at max speed)
Airflow 82.67 CFM (at max speed)
Two ball bearing

Heatsink : Forge C1100 copper base, mirror finish (machined to
0.0003 per inch run-out)
Aluminium pin fin heat sink (the small black one on the base)
Four 8mm heat pipes
Aluminium fins

Thermal grease : Arctic Silver 5 (I will be using Arctic Cooling MX-1 instead)

Accessories: Back plate for socket (INTEL)775, (AMD)754,939,940,AM2
One Retention modules, two clip bolts and one clip lever for AMD
Four innerspring screws and four rubber washers for INTEL
One fan controller
One knob for the fan controller and two bolts for fixing the
controller.

The box containing the cooler.
*img2.freeimagehosting.net/uploads/th.195bcdee83.jpg

Cooler sitting inside the box.
*img2.freeimagehosting.net/uploads/th.8d403037e9.jpg

Cooler out of the box.
*img2.freeimagehosting.net/uploads/th.c4155ff353.jpg

Accessories included.
*img2.freeimagehosting.net/uploads/th.c7521c4ae5.jpg

More pics

Size compared to the intel stock cooler.
*img2.freeimagehosting.net/uploads/th.409eca420c.jpg

That's called mirror finish (you can see my phones image)
*img2.freeimagehosting.net/uploads/th.3df7b994aa.jpg

The cooler installed.
*img2.freeimagehosting.net/uploads/th.c8ddcdf7b3.jpg

The height of the cooler.
*img2.freeimagehosting.net/uploads/th.76b7ab983b.jpg

john_the_ultimate

No pain....No gain
And some more pics :wink:
Other angles.
*img2.freeimagehosting.net/uploads/th.3eac9f7619.jpg

*img2.freeimagehosting.net/uploads/th.03ac9e1e6a.jpg

*img2.freeimagehosting.net/uploads/th.d1547911be.jpg

The cooler at work.
*img2.freeimagehosting.net/uploads/th.8ff59b16b5.jpg

Test Machine:

Intel C2D E4300 @ 1800MHz
XFX 650i Ultra
Kingston DD2 667MHz Value Ram
Leadtek 7950GT 256MB
Antec Basiq Power 500W
Seagate 160GB SATA HDD
Sony DRU-820 drive
Zebronics PEACE cabby.

At first overclocking attempt with new cooler, was able to reach 2.7GHz with all the setting at auto (Vcore was at 1.25v). The memory was set to Unlinked. The temps were:
Idle 37C
Load 42c

Next had to bump up voltage or else the overclock simply failed. This is the current setting:
OVERCLOCKING RESULTS

Vcore: 1.35v(BIOS), 1.32-1.33v(windows)
FSB : 1.4v
Memory: 2.0v (1.8v just was not able to load windows)
nforce SPP: 1.4v

CPU: 3000MHz
CPU multiplier: 9x
BUS speed: 333MHz
FSB: 1333MHz (QDR)
Memory: 667MHz (DDR)
CPU:RAM Ratio 1:1

For temperature reading, used CORE TEMP 0.95 and SPEEDFAN 4.32. To stress test the overclock ran ORTHOS + Real Time HDR IBL + Super pi 1.5 16M (all at once).

So now let's compare some temperature:
1) E4300 @ 1800MHz with Vcore @ 1.25v
Idle -> 34c
Load -> 38c

2) E4300 @ 2700MHz with Vcore @ 1.25v
Idle -> 37c
Load - 42c

3) E4300 @ 3000Mhz with Vcore @ 1.32v (windows would crash or orthos gave error at lower voltage)
Idle -> 40c
Load-> 49c

The whole machine was just crawling and the test was done with closed case. With open case the temps differrence was 5-6c. Also the fans RPM was set at 1500, it can go upto 2600 but its noisy. Now when the fan was set at 2600RPM the temps were down by 6c in closed case senario.

Other than that, played Company of heroes (1.7 patched) for an hour with high setting @1440*900 and the temps was around 44C.

Will try to push it more but later. Must say the the cooler does perform as intended.

Pros: Cooling performance
Easy to install. Perfect fitting and doesn't more a bit.
Fan speed can be controlled (virtually silent upto 1800RPM)
Good branded thermal paste included in the package.
As its a down facing cooler, it cools the surrounding components like
northbridge, memory, PWM and maybe the back of your graphics card.
Looks good :D

Cons: Big size (can be installed in any orientation, given you have space.
But small cabby will have problem.)
Weight (835g with the fan)
Had to remove the mobo for installation (but most 3rd party intel
cooler have the same procedure)
Noisy when the fan is at its full speed.

One piece of advice, just be careful while moving your cabby with the cooler installed. Boy this thing is heavy.

Thank you.

certainly compare with the Poor cheap ThermalRight Pacgake, this package look damn cool :p lets the the oc results :)

One piece of advice, just be careful while moving your cabby with the cooler installed. Boy this thing is heavy.

Its kind a told u so :lol: ....

Now when the fan was set at 2600RPM the temps were down by 6c in closed case senarior.

What about ur Cabbi Fan details ?? u have Cabi fans installed na ??

john_the_ultimate

No pain....No gain
Well have front and side panel fan both 120mm as intake, while the rear and blow hole (top) fan, including the PSU fan work as exhaust.

john said:
Well have front and side panel fan both 120mm as intake, while the rear and blow hole (top) fan, including the PSU fan work as exhaust.

*img404.imageshack.us/img404/52/80053573mq4.jpg

Please refer to the pic, as this fan is set for exhaust... should I reverse it back ?? as then it will through Air Directly to the Mobo....

That lowers the Temp a little, but also creats problem with Dust !!!

john_the_ultimate

No pain....No gain
Yup that does pulls in more dust but cleaning once in a month should take care of the problem. But if you are happy with your current temps then why change.

Vishal Gupta said:
Nicely done. :)

Thank you. Tried to keep it as simple and brief as possible.

Kniwor

Learner
Good review john. and a little advice to help it look better.

Maybe u can arrange a camera from somewhere for better pics.
Just list the temperatures in a better manner, in a way so that comparison is clear.

The cooler certainly looks good though.

john_the_ultimate

No pain....No gain
Kniwor said:
Good review john. and a little advice to help it look better.

Maybe u can arrange a camera from somewhere for better pics.
Just list the temperatures in a better manner, in a way so that comparison is clear.

The cooler certainly looks good though.

Ok rohit bhai, me getting a camera soon. As for temps. will make the changes. Any suggestion for good memory. Did you sell the ones you had for sale?

Kniwor

Learner
john_the_ultimate said:
Ok rohit bhai, me getting a camera soon. As for temps. will make the changes. Any suggestion for good memory. Did you sell the ones you had for sale?

looks better now...

what kind of memory are u looking at and budget?
Apparently people on digit have decided not to allow my posts in the market section, My 8 days old FS has still not appeared, the memory is already sold elsewhere...lol, but the thread is not yet moderated/appeared in bazaar.

john_the_ultimate

No pain....No gain
keith_j_snyder2 said:
Not bad at all!!!

Yeah, thanks.

sabret00the said:
johny boy ka jawab nai.....

Maine bhi socha hi chalo ek high performance wala cpu cooler kharid hi loon and the rest is history :D

@rohit
I want to buy a high performance memory, hmmm....... something like Kingston HYPER-X 800MHz DDR2. Budget can be decided later, first I want few choices. Also 4gb is my requirement.

Kniwor

Learner
hmmm

HyperX is a good memory, but a bit overpriced in my opinion, I've used
Geil Ultra(800)/ OCZ - Platinum(800)/ OCZ-SLI(1066)/ Buffallo Firestix(800)/ Patriot(800) etc...

And in my opinion, u price performance wise Buffallo Firestix Rocks. Though the OCZ-SLI is as good, but higher priced.

In the end, all that matters is chip used in the ram, so try to get a Micron D9G based cheapest ram on a good PCB, which will be D9GMH, of if u want to go higher on the performance front, get a ram with Micron D9GKX chip.

darklord

Nice cooler John, congrats !

As Kniwor said, anything based on Micron D9GMH/D9GKX with Brainpower PCB is enough to see some insane clocks on memory :D

john_the_ultimate

No pain....No gain
Any place where I can get it? Is any of these available in Kolkata? And any info about the site memory-configurator (don't remember the exact name), read that they ship to India, so any buying experience?

darklord

john_the_ultimate said:
Any place where I can get it? Is any of these available in Kolkata? And any info about the site memory-configurator (don't remember the exact name), read that they ship to India, so any buying experience?

Memory-c is decent,lotsa friends bot from there :)
Mostly all PC2 8500 kits SHOULD have D9.These days various brands have started using Promos heavily so its tricky to pick guranteed D9 now. Crucial Ballistix is the safest cos its Micron's own brand so it will definitely have D9