Put a background on the whole world wide web!

Discussion in 'Tutorials' started by aryayush, Jun 20, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. aryayush

    aryayush New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    5,594
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Noida
    Hello!
    I am sure the name of this topic must have intrigued you. Well, it is not a mistake. You can indeed put a static or dynamic background on the whole world wide web and it is quite easy to do so. A dynamic background means that the background will keep changing. Before I start the tutorial, click on the links below to have a look at what you can achieve at the end of this tutorial:
    http://www.tachypic.com/view/322
    http://www.tachypic.com/view/324

    Like what you see?

    Well then, 'subh kaam mein deri kaisi'!
    To achieve this, you need the following ingredients:
    1. Microsoft Windows XP
    2. PowerMenu (http://download.softpedia.com/software/os_enhance/PowerMenu_1_5_1.zip)
    3. Opera (or any other internet browser)
    4. 512 MB or more of RAM

    OK now. Download and install PowerMenu from the link above.
    Close all open windows in the taskbar.
    Open your web browser.
    Open 'My Pictures' and select the image(s) that you want to set as the background. The size should either be same as your desktop resolution or larger. If it is larger, it should have the same proportions as your desktop resolution.
    Press 'Ctrl + C'.
    Navigate to some empty folder or create a new one and open it.
    Press 'Ctrl + V'.
    Hit return. The 'Windows Picture and Fax Viewer' should open up.
    Hit F11. A slideshow of the picture(s) should start.
    Press and hold 'Alt' and hit 'Tab' twice. The folder in which you pasted the pictures should open.
    Press 'Alt + F4'.
    Press and hold 'Alt' and hit 'Tab' twice. Your web browser should open.
    Right-click on the first tab in the Taskbar (the web browser's) and set 'Transparency' according to taste (I prefer '40%').
    DONE!

    LOL! I am sure you did not expect me to do it in this manner. :D It is a simple and effective solution.

    A few tips:
    1. Having a dynamic background might hamper your browsing experience.
    2. Choose an image which primarily has a light colour and does not have heavy contrast.
    3. Transparency tends to slow down the PC a lot if used excessively. It is advised that you use it only on one window at a time.
    4. You will have to do this everytime you start your browser (though I expect everyone to be aware of this).

    This is my first ever tutorial. Please leave your comments, whether negative or positive. Thank you! :)
     
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2006
  2. Chirag

    Chirag bang bang!

    Joined:
    Feb 17, 2005
    Messages:
    1,294
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Vadodara
    Its kewl. Damn cool buddy. I will try and post the screenshots soon.:))
     
  3. OP
    OP
    aryayush

    aryayush New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    5,594
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Noida
    Thanks for the appreciation! Looking forward to your screenshots. :)
     
  4. casanova

    casanova The Frozen Nova

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2004
    Messages:
    1,641
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Trespasser in Virtual Land
  5. OP
    OP
    aryayush

    aryayush New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    5,594
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Noida
    First and foremost, PowerMenu does not require 512 MB of RAM - it does not even require 256 MB. I recommended 512 MB because transparency tends to use up a good measure of RAM.
    Secondly, it is not about which software you use to achieve the effect but how you use it. Apart from PowerMenu and Glass2k, WindowBlinds and Style XP will also enable transparency but I thought my idea of using it to create a pseudo-background for the web was unique so I posted this.
    And I certainly wouldn't recommend Glass2k or any other software if you just want the transparency feature because they also install too many useless features (for me, atleast) such as changing the windows theme and such. Another factor is that though the (minimum) requirement is 256 MB, they will slow down a system with just 256 MB of RAM terribly. In fact, I cannot use them even on my system which has 512 MB of RAM because there is a lot of lag.
    Anyway, if you prefer that, use it. It's upto you eventually. Do show us your results if you use it for setting a background for your internet browser. :)

    Edit: Here is the link to a better (read beautiful) screenshot of the background:
    http://www.tachypic.com/view/327
     
    Last edited: Jun 20, 2006
  6. gary4gar

    gary4gar GaurishSharma.com

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,094
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jaipur
    great find mate nice post. i knew it
    anyways is there any thing which directly intetegraes in broswer??
     
  7. OP
    OP
    aryayush

    aryayush New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    5,594
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Noida
    Thanks for the appreciation! :) Just to make it clear, I figured this out myself and did not find this somewhere. :p

    I am not too sure there is anything that will enable you to integrate it directly into the browser but I would stray away if I were you because even if you do manage to integrate it into the browser, you most probably won't be able to set it to be faintly visible and if you simply put it as the background, I am not too sure you'll enjoy browsing the internet because I am sure the picture will conflict with the colours on the page. Even if you somehow set it to be faintly visibly (like a watermark), the process will become very complicated if you want to decrease or increase the visibility of the image while browsing some site. If you use this method, however, you can change the image quickly and also set it's transparency to different values with just two clicks. There is also the added advantage of having a dynamic background.
    Hope you understand my logic! :D

    If, however, you still want to try to integrate it with the browser, I suppose you can experiment with the custom style sheets option in Opera. :)
     
  8. casanova

    casanova The Frozen Nova

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2004
    Messages:
    1,641
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Trespasser in Virtual Land
    No, glass2k doesn't install anything. It comes only as a single ready to use exe.
     
  9. OP
    OP
    aryayush

    aryayush New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    5,594
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Noida
    I am not too sure I understood your post, gary4gar.
    Can you please edit it or re-post it in better punctuated english?
     
  10. PinKLip

    PinKLip New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 4, 2004
    Messages:
    99
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    One query???
    Does is eat your bandwith??
     
  11. OP
    OP
    aryayush

    aryayush New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    5,594
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Noida
    Why should it eat your bandwidth!! This is something that you are doing on your PC and will obviously have no effect at all on the network you are connected to. :)
     
  12. iMav

    iMav The Devil's Advocate

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Messages:
    7,004
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Masti Ki Paathshaala
    WOW! Look what I found! Sorry for bumping such an old thread, but this interesting in 2 aspects.
     
  13. slugger

    slugger Banned

    Joined:
    May 9, 2004
    Messages:
    2,430
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Baudland
    LOL!!
    iMav is evil :twisted: :D

    will aryayush now become an outcast
     
  14. iMav

    iMav The Devil's Advocate

    Joined:
    Mar 28, 2006
    Messages:
    7,004
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Masti Ki Paathshaala
    Last edited: Sep 21, 2008
  15. MetalheadGautham

    MetalheadGautham AFK

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2007
    Messages:
    7,600
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Thats the best wallpaper text ever :D

    @iMav: nice find...
     
  16. Krazzy Warrior

    Krazzy Warrior "Aal Izz Well"

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2008
    Messages:
    1,830
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Inside ur BRaIN..!!
    Error
     
  17. dreamsalive

    dreamsalive New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 27, 2006
    Messages:
    37
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ^^^ yeah same here, u need to fix it.
     
  18. Quiz_Master

    Quiz_Master * Teh Flirt King *

    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2005
    Messages:
    973
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Originally From : Ratlam M.P., Currently in: Hyder
    Look at the time guys..soooo old thread... Ofcourse the pic links are dead by now...

    (BTW it was funnu...remembering how aryayush used to be a faithful winodws user..lolz .. )
     
  19. OP
    OP
    aryayush

    aryayush New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    5,594
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Noida
    Yes, before I’d laid eyes on Mac OS X, I had nothing but love for Windows. I actually used to enjoy messing with it and having to reinstall it once every couple of months and tweaking it to the extreme.

    But then again, I was only fifteen and getting through high school was the most important thing at the time. Now that the situation has changed, I cannot imagine wasting my time on all that crap.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page