mail2and said:
Mahesh Babu said:
sidewinder said:
Mahesh Babu said:
AMD 3000+ 64bit sucks

get atleast AMD 3500+

and also get ASUS 7800GT and enjoy the life

Why dont u tell this....... Every pc processor on earth sucks,get a supercomputer!!!
AMD 3000+ is the best a value pc buyer can buy right now.3500+is a hell costlier.3500+performs beteer doesnt mean 3000+ sucks :evil:
My friend bought a new AMD PC with 3000+ CPU (socket 939).Now he is saying that his old celeron 1.2Ghz was more superior to this in games.He could see just a small difference in speed.That sucks.So Go for AMD 3500+ or better or better stay with your current config.BTW he has Good graphics card GEforce 5700.

Dont go for FX series as they are way too costlier around 30ooo-40oooRs
Dont forget to get 7800GT especially ASUS brand which will cost around 25000Rs
Get Logitech 7.1 speakers around 20-25K.This will make a good config.

Your friend, my dear, is an a$$.

Are u comparing a Celeron 1.2 ghz thing with an Athlon 64 3000+? Are u even sane? Or better is ur friend insane? :D

I went from a 866MHZ P3 to a 1.7celeron thinking it would be 50% faster since I only needed just enough more juice to real time compress MPEG1 video... No way!! it was actually slower... Just got an AMD3000+ and it is more than twice as fast. Easily... Benchmark shows over 4 times as fast as a 1GHZ P3. And it does feel like its twice as fast.

Installing the proper drivers always causes a dramatic improvement in speed as well. Intel CPU's seem to be half as fast as AMD CPU's if you use MHZ.. IE a 3GHZ Intel chip would run about the same speed as a 1.5GHZ AMD CPU roughly. I can belive that since seeing hwo they screwed up the P4 celerons so much. The P2 celeron was like 10% slower so it was a good deal. Even 25% slower is okay.. But 50%? Especially when you need new mother board and much more expensive DDR ram etc...

Vyasram

Vyasram

The pWnster
Mahesh Babu said:
Vyasram said:
Mahesh Babu..... are you freakin' crazy ... maybe your friend is more freakier than u ......

And could someone plz tell me the price of the Gigabyte GA k8NF-9 Mobo
and the MSI K8 Neo 4 - F

Say that 'i will use google before asking dumb questions' 100 times

*img312.imageshack.us/img312/8756/bart5wz.gif

looks like you re gonna suggest me buy a system that will set me back by almost a lakh......

as for the 3500+ i'd like to say its price index is almost 30% less than 3000+ thats why i go for it and cel 1.2 is almost two generations behind this

Abt the google search the prob is that they dont offer Indian prices mainly even in froogle ... I 've searched also at techtree and even at the Digi-giga site so I asked here..... Therefore in India it should not be considered a dumb question......

Thanks for that link you guys gave me I've emailed them abt the price

siriusb

theraven said:
Dont go for FX series as they are way too costlier around 30ooo-40oooRs
what exactly do u mean by that ?
all fx series are 30k-40k ?
do u know that the gf 5200/5600/5700 et al are FX 5200/5600/5700 respectively ?
what do u mean by that statement plz clarify

theraven, if I am not mistaken, he was talking about AMD FX series CPUs and not the nvidia FX series GPUs.

Mahesh_babu:
According to this site, the amd 3000+ surpases P4 3GHz in most benchmarks. Tell me then, do you suppose the celeron processor in questionis faster then p4 3GHz?

darklord

Well Mahesh Babu,
I have a 3000+ ,talk with me about performance.

Oh yes i have 2 1.2Ghz Celeron.

Also hardware needs to be complimented by good software to work fast.

Could you please list the exact configs of the 3000 and celeron?