1. Hey Guest Did you know you can win an Honor 10 phone worth ₹33,000 and an additional ₹70,000 in paytm vouchers, just by replying to some threads and taking part in the discussions happening in the Honor Hub?

    What are you waiting for? Start commenting and start winning! Remember to read the instructions posted here.

    Dismiss Notice

pata to sata.

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by sagar_coolx, Mar 30, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sagar_coolx

    sagar_coolx New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 24, 2004
    Messages:
    201
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    In the blue.............
    hey i bought a new pc,with 160 gb segate sata hdd and a8n-e board.
    now i have data on my old samsung 80 gb pata disk. so how do i transfer it to my new sata disk??
    i heard that pata and sata dont go together??
     
  2. nishant_nms

    nishant_nms New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,344
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune
    Who told u that they cannot be together. U can use them together
     
  3. suhasingale

    suhasingale New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    179
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    -::MuMBaI::-
    There might be some setting for this in your motherboard bios to use PATA and SATA together/
     
  4. drvarunmehta

    drvarunmehta New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,533
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    There's no setting for this. It simply works.
    If your SATA HDD and a IDE optical drive work together, the why wouldn't a HDD that uses the same IDE cable not work?
     
  5. gary4gar

    gary4gar GaurishSharma.com

    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Messages:
    4,094
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Jaipur
    just plug the old HDD in the place of ur optical DRIVE (cd/dvd drive).u can c both of them in my computer.now just do simple copy & paste
     
  6. digiFriend

    digiFriend New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2006
    Messages:
    266
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    your motherboad has 2 ATA-66/100/133 IDE, connect your old hard disk with ATA parallel cable. if you put your old pata as master then your computer will boot from pata. by default it will boot from PATA.
    in your bios it will show both harddisk .make sure in your bios, from which harddisk you want to boot. both PATA and SATA can work together without any problem.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page