Official Nokia 5800 XpressMusic discussion thread

these things r small glitches of smartphones...comes and goes

I encode for my mobile at 1500kbps and audio at 128kbps...and looks sharp and good..

If UCplayer cant run avi and mkv properly then its of no use:)

unni

What software do you use for encoding the videos? I tried Super, but the videos appear a little stretched, most probably because of incorrect aspect ratio.

Get Aimersoft Video Converter Ultimate and make a userdefined profile...set video as 640*360...codec as mpeg4...bitrate as 1500kbps
and audio as mp3...128kbps...2channel

U get the best result.

remember...if u directly convert into mp4 it will convert it into 640*480 which is not compatible with our 5800:)

hluachawngthu

just draw a small horizontal line

---------- Post added at 07:47 PM ---------- Previous post was at 07:28 PM ----------

i have a great problem wid my 5800xm

i used to have a problem :!: wid my files getting corrupted,in where im unable to read dem anywhere,not on phne or pc
i cleared it ftr service center here (but i got d phone from KSA,so had arabic stuff,dat version) ,updated my firmware,(i had d problem wen i updated it myself)

:!:now i have those files filled in my phone memory,which i cannot remove or even read & is unable to get update downloads because of no space
how do i delete those files

:!:another problem is that all f a sudden my message memory wont switch to memory card

Thanks a lot! Its working! Then how to remove or delete some handwritten text or characters without going to option menu and what about opera mini5? Please!

khmadhu

change is constant!!
is there any application that can record radio on XM..?

and sometimes why are my files get deleted automatically.. but space remains same.. (occupied)!.
i even updated firmware to v50..

k4ce

and sometimes why are my files get deleted automatically.. but space remains same.. (occupied)!.

i've experienced that too ... no rational explanation for it ... lost all photos i took on one particular day ... they disappeared three days after i took em ... (not corrput, jus missing) ..

Whenever the files disappear and it still shows the space has been occupied..use the remove memory card option and press ok..but dont remove the memory card and go to file manager and check the files..it will be available now..This trick work for most of the 5800 phones..

eman

Dear All ITD Members

Plz mujhye koi bata sakta hai k Nokia 5610XpressMusic Kon Se Sieres Hai?

k4ce

Whenever the files disappear and it still shows the space has been occupied..use the remove memory card option and press ok..but dont remove the memory card and go to file manager and check the files..it will be available now..This trick work for most of the 5800 phones..

Not working :( ... was worth a try though

PraKs

Can anyone tell me whats latest firmware for Nokia 5800 ?

Tried with OVI Suite & it came to v30.0.11, People say its v50 but OVI suite shows only v30. How do I get v50 ? Dont want to hack the firmware & all.

Is there any way to install Maps (India) with v30 firmware ? please guide.

after V30 came V40 then V50....ur mobile is working on quit outdated firmware..
Go to nokia service center and upgrade it without any hassle

Can anyone tell me whats latest firmware for Nokia 5800 ?

Tried with OVI Suite & it came to v30.0.11, People say its v50 but OVI suite shows only v30. How do I get v50 ? Dont want to hack the firmware & all.

Is there any way to install Maps (India) with v30 firmware ? please guide.

Is your product code 0575590 ?? Fewer product codes are not eligible for firmware upgrade to v40 and v50 i.e. these devices will not get update from OTA or NSU. The better option is to visit nokia care center and they will update the firmware for you. It will hardly take 30 mins for the firmware update.

Else, another option is to change your product code and update the firmware of your phone yourself. You can google for more information on this but remember you will loose warranty by changing the product code and if any mistake done while changing the code, your phone can be brick.

PS: my product code is same and I am still using v50..I changed the product code of my phone and updated the v50 firmware.

PraKs

Thanks guys,

What if there is no warranty left on phone ? Will nokia care update firmware for free ? Do they install Indian OVI maps too ?

No I dont think they will update for free...it will be chargeable...No they wont install OVI maps...that u can do with GPRS easily

talwar

You can download ovi maps free from ovi store. earlier i was traveling i need a navigation device but now i have maps in my mobiles with lifetime free navigation…but I need to learn more deeply how it works…I am downloading from ovi store and define my route myself its so easy...want to set new destination on my route but i need to learn for this...
*store.ovi.com/content/33780

PraKs

Do you think 8.33 MB OVI maps will have all details & roads of India ?

Can anyone direct me to correct method of changing code ? Phone is not under warranty so no use going to nokia care. How do I change the code & what new code should i put to get latest Nokia v50 OS & India maps.

I think we are not allowed to post that here..You can visit the direct links with tutorial and product code:

Tutorial
*neerajvohra.blogspot.com/2010/05/nokia-5800-help-guide-change-your.html

Product code :

*neerajvohra.blogspot.com/2010/05/product-codes-of-nokia-5800.html

Choose any of the APAC2 India Black/Blue/Red depending upon your handset.
Let me know if you need any help..

sriharsha_madineni

No, that is just the application size from Ovi store, you have to download maps separately from PC using Nokia Map loader. Maps for India is around 100MB in size. Not all places are mapped in those maps, only a few metros and national highways are mapped as of now.

PraKs

Thank you very much @neerajvohra

@sriharsha_madineni
Do you mind giving direct link of Nokia site from where I can get 100 MB file of Indian maps ? I could not get it. Once I download that map file, I guess i can dump in memory card & use it directly.