New PC randomly starts up and crashes.

Anish Rao

Right off the assembly line
Hello,a few days ago i bought a new pc, assembled based on the suggestions of various members of this forum,

The config is
  • AMD athlon 2 x4 635 (2.9ghz)
  • MSI p45 motherboard.
  • 2x2gb 1333mhz ddr3 kingston ram
  • 500 gb seagate 7200rpm HDD.
  • sapphire 1gb HD5750
  • lg dvd writer.
  • Cooler master elite 310 casing.
  • Zebronics Platinum 500W PSU.
On the first day, it worked fine, except for once or twice when the comp froze while i was browsing the net. Nothing worked not even the task manager etc. so i had to reset it twice. Then, on the 2nd day, the computer refused to start. I opened to case and didnt see any lights or anything on the motherboard, despite the computer being powered. So i took it to the person who sold it to me, and it started fine there. he told me there was a problem with the power cord, and gave me a replacement. After i got home it worked fine, until i started playing world of warcraft. ( was playing at very low settings and a low resolution which shouldnt strain this GPU)

Then , suddenly it crashed while i was playing it. This happened two times. so i shut it down for a while. Now when i try to power it up, it refuses to turn on. no lights, no fan, not even the motherboard light can be seen.

hope you'll can help me with this issue.

jerrin_ss5

Never give up!!
pretty strange !!! did the led's on mo-bo lit up at the other place !!!
if so then there's some power supply problem at ur place !!!
try using UPS to correct the power problem
if there are no LED's on mo-bo then try using one RAM stick at a time
cause even ur RAM can be at fault !!!

coderunknown

Retired Forum Mod
How can you have an AMD on a P45.

:rofl: nice catch there :lol:

@Anish Rao, please change that PSU to a better one (no. not Cooler Master or iBall Splinter or any such low grade ones). this should solve your problem unless you really using an AMD proccy on a Intel P45 chipset.