New Home Inverter with Battery

Discussion in 'Consumer electronics and everything else' started by ssb1551, Mar 7, 2017.

  1. ssb1551

    ssb1551 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,008
    Likes Received:
    94
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Bangalore
    Hi All,

    I just moved to a new apartment after wedding. There is no power back up (which I was told is there), so I intend to buy an inverter with battery. Things that will be connected to the inverter are : 1 ceiling fan, 1 led bulb, my PC (in signature i5-6500, GTX 1060 AMP, 550W PSU). I am confused between the inverters I saw on Amazon. What will be the difference between an inverter 1100va+150AH and 850va+150AH?

    Luminous Zelio 1100 Inverter with RC18000 150 Ah Tubular Battery: Amazon.in: Home & Kitche

    Luminous Zelio 1100 Inverter with ILTT 18039 150 Ah Flat Plate Battery: Amazon.in: Home & Kitche

    Thanks for taking the time & effort to read this thread & if possible reply
     
  2. nac

    nac Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4,232
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    48
    I am using Luminous 875VA (2yrs warranty) + 150AH tall tubular battery (4yrs warranty). It's nearly 4yrs old. I was told tall tubular is better than flat plate, so bought it. It's working fine without any problem till date.
    It was bought when there was too many power cuts back in 2012-13. Brand new fully charged battery can run two fan whole night. Over time battery loses its efficiency, I don't know how long it will give back up now.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    ssb1551

    ssb1551 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,008
    Likes Received:
    94
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Bangalore
    Thats very less dude!! Guess I'll go with 1.1kVA inverter and maybe connect 2 150AH Batteries.
     
  4. nac

    nac Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4,232
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Make sure the inverter/ups will take 24v if you want to add two batteries.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    ssb1551

    ssb1551 Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Sep 13, 2010
    Messages:
    2,008
    Likes Received:
    94
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Bangalore
    ^^ Ok. Point noted. Any idea why?
     
  6. nac

    nac Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Oct 10, 2010
    Messages:
    4,232
    Likes Received:
    78
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Usually, upto 1 or 1.1kva inverter just takes 12v. If you want to connect 2 batteries (i.e., two 12v batteries), then you need an inverter which can take 24v. And also there is a max limit (battery in AH). I mean, you want two 150AH batteries, i.e., a total of 300AH. You have to make sure your inverter can take that much. When you research, you will know about this.

    - - - Updated - - -

    Here it is,
    Buy Luminous Cruze 2KVA Sine Wave Home UPS @ Best Prices-Industrybuying

    This one can take two batteries, but max limit is 220AH. So you can't put two 150AH in this. Don't worry, seller will say if you pick something not compatible.
     

Share This Page