Need help for buying a server....

Discussion in 'Software Q&A' started by sushantasarkar, Nov 19, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sushantasarkar

    sushantasarkar New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2006
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I need to run a windows based simulation software for my research work. It takes about 4 hr to complete the simulation on my AMD Athlon 2800+ with 1GB DDR400 RAM running on win xp sp2 platform. I want to complete the above simulation in 1 hr. Pls recommend server(s) for the same. You may notice that the main requirement is processing speed, not the reliability or the fail safe architecture of the server. If the multiple desktop can be connected to do the same, then give me the info. of the service providers who can do this.
     
  2. arpanmukherjee1

    arpanmukherjee1 XLr8

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    turn your attention to xenon processors and 16gig of ram

    better still look for XC1 Cray system or IBM server solution.
    -----------------------------------------
    Posted again:
    -----------------------------------------
    sorry,, XT1 and XT3 systems cray
     
    Last edited: Nov 19, 2009
  3. OP
    OP
    sushantasarkar

    sushantasarkar New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2006
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Any comment on blade servers....pls..
     
  4. arpanmukherjee1

    arpanmukherjee1 XLr8

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    630
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    from useage you propose (bring down processing time from 4 to 1 hr.) multiple blades are to be used. this sort of computetation i presume will be much more costly than other server solutions
     
  5. OP
    OP
    sushantasarkar

    sushantasarkar New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 5, 2006
    Messages:
    74
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    This server will b purchased by university with a max budget of abt 10 lakh including the charge for the os and installation. will it be sufficient for multiple blades.
    -----------------------------------------
    Posted again:
    -----------------------------------------
    I have zeroed on IBM System x3455 ...is it ok ?
    -----------------------------------------
    Posted again:
    -----------------------------------------
    I have zeroed on IBM System x3455 ...is it ok ?
     
    Last edited: Nov 20, 2009
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page