Movies Discussion Thread V1: Ratings and Opinions

a_medico

Chillum Baba
The Men Who Stare at Goats - Offbeat comedy. Apart from some sporadic offbeat humor, the movie has nothing to offer, especially with a stellar starcast - George Clooney, Ewan McGregor, Jeff Bridges and Kevin Spacey.

Zenda - What a movie! A hard hitting Marathi movie on Maharastra politics and how the party people individually suffer. Awesome direction, amazing soundtrack. A must watch.

same here i'm also a huge fan of SAW series...
oh yeah i hav watched d movie The Killing Room, it was a pretty good movie but it was too slow man...
some more movies like SAW???

I'd say watch The Collector. It was pretty close to the torture porn genre and truly satisfying movie.

LUCK - 7.5/10

*www.imdb.com/title/tt1242782/

Full paisa vasool film and good story by Soham ...although one sequence is inspired from 13 Tzameti ...

Overall nice timepass with 2-3 good songs like Khudaya Ve

abyss88

Academy Awards, USA: 2010

Best Motion Picture of the Year

Winner: The Hurt Locker (2008) - Kathryn Bigelow, Mark Boal, Nicolas Chartier, Greg Shapiro
Best Achievement in Directing

Winner: Kathryn Bigelow for The Hurt Locker (2008)
Best Performance by an Actress in a Leading Role
Winner: Sandra Bullock for The Blind Side (2009)
Best Performance by an Actor in a Leading Role
Winner: Jeff Bridges for Crazy Heart (2009)
Best Foreign Language Film of the Year
Winner: El secreto de sus ojos (2009)(Argentina)
Best Achievement in Editing
Winner: The Hurt Locker (2008) - Bob Murawski, Chris Innis
Best Documentary, Features
Winner: The Cove (2009) - Louie Psihoyos, Fisher Stevens
Best Achievement in Visual Effects
Winner: Avatar (2009) - Joe Letteri, Stephen Rosenbaum, Richard Baneham, Andy Jones
Best Achievement in Music Written for Motion Pictures, Original Score
Winner: Up (2009) - Michael Giacchino
Best Achievement in Cinematography
Winner: Avatar (2009) - Mauro Fiore
Best Achievement in Sound Mixing
Winner: The Hurt Locker (2008) - Paul N.J. Ottosson, Ray Beckett
Best Achievement in Sound Editing
Winner: The Hurt Locker (2008) - Paul N.J. Ottosson
Best Achievement in Costume Design
Winner: The Young Victoria (2009) - Sandy Powell
Best Achievement in Art Direction
Winner: Avatar (2009) - Rick Carter, Robert Stromberg, Kim Sinclair
Best Performance by an Actress in a Supporting Role
Winner: Mo'Nique for Precious: Based on the Novel Push by Sapphire (2009)
Best Writing, Screenplay Based on Material Previously Produced or Published
Winner: Precious: Based on the Novel Push by Sapphire (2009) - Geoffrey Fletcher
Best Achievement in Makeup
Winner: Star Trek (2009) - Barney Burman, Mindy Hall, Joel Harlow
Best Short Film, Live Action
Winner: The New Tenants (2009) - Joachim Back, Tivi Magnusson
Best Documentary, Short Subjects
Winner: Music by Prudence (2010) - Roger Ross Williams, Elinor Burkett
Best Short Film, Animated
Winner: Logorama (2009) - Nicolas Schmerkin
Best Writing, Screenplay Written Directly for the Screen
Winner: The Hurt Locker (2008) - Mark Boal
Best Achievement in Music Written for Motion Pictures, Original Song
Winner: Crazy Heart (2009) - T-Bone Burnett, Ryan Bingham("The Weary Kind")
Best Animated Feature Film of the Year
Winner: Up (2009) - Pete Docter
Best Performance by an Actor in a Supporting Role
Winner: Christoph Waltz for Inglourious Basterds (2009)

source: imdb

I'm happy that Academy Didn't go for Avatar for BP..........:)
seriously tho, 2009 wasn't a great year for quality films!!!

a_medico

Chillum Baba
I'll be watching El secreto de sus ojos. And The Cove.

Friday the 13th - Typical slasher movie with gore. I wonder how many such movies I have seen till date with almost similar script!

New Moon - I should have re-watched Twilight instead of this garbage. No wonder it got such a low IMDB rating.

K-Pax - Brilliant film. Kevin Spacey's performance was simply amazing. Jeff Bridges was brilliant in his role as well. The movie was made in a very simple manner, however, the presentation and the narration style was captivating. Especially, the part where Mark invites Prot to his house. I need to research about the end on IMDB.

Here's My List:

16 Blocks
A Beautiful mind
A moment to remember (Korean, It'll make u cry, believe me)
A Tale of Two Sisters (Korean)
After Hours
Ant Bully
Apocalypto (Great Great Movie, but gory)
Apolypse Now
Asterix Movies
Blood Diamond
Bourne Identity/Supremacy
Bus 174 (Brazil)
Cars
Children of Men
Cinderella Man
Citizen Kane
Clash of the Titans
Crash
Dances With Wolves
Dark City
Dr Strangelove
Dragons-Metal Ages (Anime)
Final Fantasy-Advent Children
Ghost in the Shell (Matrix got some of it from this Anime)
Goal (For Football Lovers)
Godfather Trilogy
Harry Potter Series
Hidalgo
Hitler and the Rise of Evil
Hoodwinked
Hooligans
Hot Shots 1 & 2
Hotel Rwanda
Ice Age 1 & 2
In the name of the father
Infernal Affairs 1,2 & 3 (Hong Kong, Original of "The Departed")
Initial D
James Bond Movies
Joyeux Noel
K-Pax
L.A.Confidential
Layer Cake
Life is Beautiful
Lonely Hearts
Lord of the Rings Trilogy
Matrix Trilogy
Monsters Inc
Motorcycle Diaries
Munich
My Sassy Girl (Korean, Original of "Neal & Nikki")
Nacho Libre
No Man's Land
Notting Hill
Pans Labyrinth
Paradise Now (Israel)
Pirates of the Caribbean Series
Princess Mononoke (Anime)
Rabbit Proof Fence (Australia)
Ran (Japanese, By Akira Kurosawa)
Rear Window
Renaissance (French Anime, Very Different Graphics)
Road to Perdition
Scary Movie Series
Seven Samurai (Japanese)
Shrek 1 & 2
Sin City
Snatch
Spirited Away (Anime)
Star Wars Series
Syriana
The 5th Element
The Classic (Korean, Very sad movie)
The Good, the Bad & the Ugly
The Hidden Fortress (Japanese)
The Hobbit (Anime, the beginning of The Lord of the Rings)
The Illusionist
The Incredibles
The Last King of Scotland
The Lost City
The Polar Express
The Proposition
The Shawshank Redemption
The Tiger & the Snow (Italy)
The Treasure of Sierra Madre (B & W)
They Call Me Trinity
To Kill A Mockingbird
Trinity is Still My Name
Troy
Tsotsi (South Africa, Oscar Winner)
Vampire Hunder D-Bloodlust (Anime)
Volver
Walk the Line
Wallace & Gromit (Anime)
World Trade Center
X-Men Trilogy
I got mine from here... ;-)
Credit goes to sam for re-introducing it...

a_medico

Chillum Baba
Watched Oscar winning documentary The Cove, based on killing of dolphins. A smililar documentary, 'Sharkwater' is more appealing and sharks seem like a bigger issue than dolphins. If 'The Cove' hit you hard, 'Sharkwater' will hit you harder. Do watch both.

a_medico

Chillum Baba
The Secret in Their Eyes- Oscar winner for best foreign film this year. A bit slow and lengthy. Little predictable but gripping and enjoyable! But also need to watch other nominees to say whether this one deserved the oscar or not. Not many complaints though.Had a feeling as if I am watching Zodiac again(though the script is entirely different). The movie has similar look. I didn't enjoy Zodiac much. This one was better.

geee thanks for the recognition rhitwick......:smile:
Did you try my recent recomendaton........State Of Play if ofcourse already not seen...............
Awsome Investigation.....

Also did you check my post for suggestions on Rippers you asked........I think you missed that post.....
No dude, I'm not trying any recent recommendation, as my PSU is dead (again). D/L on frnd's lappy, but seriously not interested in viewing movies in a 13.5" monitor with crappy sound. Rather growing my stock.

I tried those rippers. Arrow seems to be having most titles in his hand, EuReKa is seems to be HDTV centric. Others very less titles and mostly 1080p versions. TPB, IsoHunt and Torrentz are the places I looked.

Mainly looking for 1.45GB sized versions with good picture quality and sound.

abyss88

What is a DVDscr? :oops: and everything you need to know about them and how the hell do they end up
on the internet..

---------- Post added at 12:59 AM ---------- Previous post was at 12:07 AM ----------

can anyone tell me where i get southpark season 1 uncensored?
ahem ahem ;)

PM me :p