1. Hi Guest
    We are running a survey about laptop service in India, and we'd love your inputs. Please help us improve the quality of laptop servicing, and if you've had any bad experiences, now is the time to be heard.
    Take the survey

Motherboard Stopped accepting RAM more than 256mb

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by nikku_hot123, Aug 25, 2012.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. nikku_hot123

    nikku_hot123 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    hi guys.. suddenly my motherboard has stopped accepting
    ram more than 256mb. whenever i am putting 1gb ram it
    starts beeping continuously and not booting. i have checked
    my ram in another system its ok, i have also checked my
    ram ports both are working fine with 256mb ram. Please help
    my config is
    intel p4 (HT)
    Intel origional GC101 motherboard
    abacus zion 1 gb and 256 mb ram
     
  2. acewin

    acewin Point Blanc

    Joined:
    Jan 18, 2008
    Messages:
    1,890
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    DDR2 DDR what is he RAM, P4 support DDR and not DDR2, hence upgrading RAM wille a prob. Also older mobos not all will support 1 GB RAM sticks. run cpu-z to get the info about mobo make and try to put the info here.

    do a google for CPU-z it is very simple app
     
  3. OP
    OP
    nikku_hot123

    nikku_hot123 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    It is DDR ram it was working quite well. But suddenly it stopped working, on same mother board and same ram.
     
  4. Desmond David

    Desmond David Destroy Erase Improve

    Joined:
    Apr 9, 2005
    Messages:
    6,171
    Likes Received:
    131
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Pune
    Try inserting it into another machine to see if it works there. If is does not work out there, then you might have a faulty RAM stick. Also, try inserting it into another RAM slot to see if the slot is faulty.
     
  5. d6bmg

    d6bmg BMG ftw!!

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011
    Messages:
    6,722
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Possibly BIOS limitation. You can't do much about it.
     
  6. OP
    OP
    nikku_hot123

    nikku_hot123 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I tried in another system it's working fine. My both Ports of motherboard are ok as 256 mb ram is running in both Ports. 1 month back it was working properly so i don't think it's a bios limitation
     
  7. d6bmg

    d6bmg BMG ftw!!

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011
    Messages:
    6,722
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    I don't get you.
     
  8. OP
    OP
    nikku_hot123

    nikku_hot123 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I think it's time to leave my six year old baby and go for a new pc. I am opening new thread. Thank you very much guys and please help me there to but new one.:)
     
  9. Naxal

    Naxal Little Kid

    Joined:
    Aug 7, 2012
    Messages:
    577
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata
    Did you flash the BIOS ??

    If not first reset it with jumper and then use the Intel Flasher to flash and update it with a new BIOS ROM..

    You may download the latest BIOS and Flashing tools from here, http://downloadcenter.intel.com/default.aspx?iid=subhdr+dnlds_drivers
     
  10. OP
    OP
    nikku_hot123

    nikku_hot123 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have also updated bios:( no luck there.
     
  11. d6bmg

    d6bmg BMG ftw!!

    Joined:
    Aug 6, 2011
    Messages:
    6,722
    Likes Received:
    8
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    Ok, then it looks like memory controller problem. Sadly, you can't do much about it.
     
  12. topgear

    topgear Fast 'N' Furious

    Joined:
    Jul 14, 2006
    Messages:
    18,818
    Likes Received:
    102
    Trophy Points:
    63
    Location:
    Geek's Heaven
    Time to go for a new config.
     
  13. OP
    OP
    nikku_hot123

    nikku_hot123 Member

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2011
    Messages:
    372
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    I have opened a new thread for suggestions.
    Please help me there. and thanks for your support guys.

    Link
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page