Laptop for 42k for gaming and movies.

sumansherlock

Well...i recommend you to get asus with 540m.....about HP i don't have any dv4 series laptop so take it on your own risk....or if you can extend you budget then you will have many options.....take a look at sony vaio with 1080p display and 6630m gpu ...

At last Arsenalfan has brought some sanity to this thread.
If ASS of hp is good in your area,the new SB dv6 is great vfm indeed!

My friends have experienced HP's service > Dell's service (I'm not joking, was live spectator) Talking of only my area though. I was also shocked to see that.

I do not have a store,but do have 3 Macs,a Dell and a thinkpad t410 right here with me.
Want a pic?

Yeah :p

The only advantage HP laptop is having is the HD 6750M Graphics card

6770M ?

sumansherlock

^6630M with 1080p for Gaming? Not a very good idea.

He want a laptop for movies and games....so i told him cheapest laptop with 1080p screen....that gpu can run CRYSIS,FIFA,COD at mid-low settings...so 6630m is enough for his gaming needs..

he is right, he was pointing towards dv4-3145tx GPU

Besides, can I get asus K53SV-SX520D (ci5& 540ddr3) in silver metal color???

as I saw it at the shop today.

go for it dude....i don't think they are available in silver color......

Freedom.Forever

free speech, forever
He want a laptop for movies and games....so i told him cheapest laptop with 1080p screen....that gpu can run CRYSIS,FIFA,COD at mid-low settings...so 6630m is enough for his gaming needs..

no I dont need 1080p 'coz I cant download a 40gb 1080p transformer movie. my bandwidth doesnt allow me.

Cilus

laborare est orare
sdmaverick, there is no way to compare an AMD graphics card with Nvidia graphics card because both of them use completely different architecture and I've posted the results based on the different benchmarks comparisons present in different sites like Notebookcheck.Net.
Probably you were not using latest Catalyst control center driver for the AMD cards, resulting the FPS drop. In most of the benchmarks HD 6730M (with DDR3 memory) is around 10% faster than GT 540 with DDR3 ram.

Another thing you guys are forgetting, at lower resolution or resolution below 1080P, Processor matters a lot. So a Core i7 2670QM + HD 6730M will perform better @ 1366X 768 resolution than a Dual core Core i5 + GT 540M combo. It is quite obvious because both the CPU and GPU are more powerful here.

Freedom.Forever

free speech, forever
build quality is great better than HP and asus laptop dont heat up like HP do.
you can go for this laptop Asus K Series K53SV-SX520D Laptop
and it has usb3

@reddragon

you mean the dv4 will heat up like hell when I will play Metro for 2 hours, and burn up if I continue even after 4 hours.
I mean it will heat up to what extent??

is a cooling pad of no help?
asking all this because AMD 6750M >>> gt 540M

skeletor

I would not recommend the K43SA asus laptop with the ATI card. Flipkart accidently sent me that one instead of the K53SA and I used it for about a week while I awaited replacement. Let me assure you on paper it seems better than the gt540m. But in real time performance, I gamed on dirt 2, crysis and cs source (random games lying around at the time) and the GFX has massive fps drops from 60 all the way down to 34 -36. It seems that the nvidia works better with the i7 as a combination. Just my two cents.

Cheers!
The first thing you should have done is, updated your driver and installed Catalyst 11.12.

HD 6730M is faster.

@reddragon

you mean the dv4 will heat up like hell when I will play Metro for 2 hours, and burn up if I continue even after 4 hours.

I'll tell you one thing.

imho, all people who buy laptops for "gaming" 24x7 and then complain about overheating are idiots. Indians are the biggest majority of those idiots.

Random Yindan idiot #1: HP sucks. It overheats. <Insert any other problem> Go for Dell.

Random Yindan idiot #2: Dell sucks. It overheats. <Insert any other problem> Go for Asus.

Random Yindan idiot #3: Asus? No match for already established players. Go for Sony.

Random Yindan idiot #4: Sony sucks. It overheats. <Insert any other problem. Go for HP.

and the cycle continues.

Everyone needs to get one thing in their head. If you are buying a laptop around Rs. 50,000 with a high-end processor (for a laptop) and a high-end graphics processor (again for a laptop, as desktops walk over these)....you are bound to get heating issues whatsoever is the case.

Think again. Rates of components from Intel, AMD and nVidia are fixed. To bring down the final cost, what is a manufacturer going to do? Compromise on the build quality....especially cooling. PS: Apple doesn't do that.

Every laptop will reach 80 degree Celsius. If it's not reaching now, it will reach one day as the time will go by. Down to luck. No one can generalize here.

Just buy a cooling pad and get a laptop which has the specifications you want. It's going to give you problems one day or the other irrespective of the "brand" you buy. I'm saying this because I (my family) have used all sorts of laptops in all these years.

Usually people who have too much of expectations before buying a laptop are the ones which complain. Laptop = compromises from every end. From the manufacturer's end, from the user's end, from the performance's end, from battery's end and from the price's end. The right balance is impossible to find. Look out for major fiascos. Like the Dell XPS 13/15 back in 2009 which had nVidia 8600M GT. That was a huge fiasco. Problem with the chip itself.

End these stupid circular discussions. Most buyers don't have the right idea about what laptops are. They are not desktop replacements and should not be treated as such.

/rant.

sdmaverick

sdmaverick, there is no way to compare an AMD graphics card with Nvidia graphics card because both of them use completely different architecture and I've posted the results based on the different benchmarks comparisons present in different sites like Notebookcheck.Net.
Probably you were not using latest Catalyst control center driver for the AMD cards, resulting the FPS drop. In most of the benchmarks HD 6730M (with DDR3 memory) is around 10% faster than GT 540 with DDR3 ram.

Another thing you guys are forgetting, at lower resolution or resolution below 1080P, Processor matters a lot. So a Core i7 2670QM + HD 6730M will perform better @ 1366X 768 resolution than a Dual core Core i5 + GT 540M combo. It is quite obvious because both the CPU and GPU are more powerful here.

While its out there for everybody to see that this graphics card has a 10% performance increase over the gt540m, do note that I had the latest drivers loaded (the catalyst control center driver) and that the fps drop is a recognized issue by Asus (check their drivers page & their latest bios release which says it solves the problem but in reality does not). Having used the laptop personally, I can assure you that the problem does exist. Kindly use the machine before telling me the amd work cohesively with the i7. While in theory the 6730 sounds better, in reality it does not perform better than the gt540m in the Asus machine in question, you can verify it.

Regarding the performance of quad core vs dual core, the general rule does suggest that the quad will offer better performance, but there are some variables you need to keep in mind, e.g. is the game capable of multicore rendering, or is it optimized for quad cores? In fact a game not optimized for quad cores will underperform a higher clocked dual core :D It is quite obvious that you see this logically!

Cheers!

no I dont need 1080p 'coz I cant download a 40gb 1080p transformer movie. my bandwidth doesnt allow me.

You not necessarily download 40gb 1080p movies for true experience of 1080p. It is visible in 720p movies and in the desktop itself. Everything starts appearing so crisp :)

red dragon

Master troll
Doc, you are loaded :greedy:

Nah re!!
Extremely hard earned money!
I was almost in hand to mouth situation 3-4 years ago.
And deep down I always feel guilty of spending so much specially on headphones and iems.

All the laptops are not mine,my wife owns a couple of them.

red dragon

Master troll
@reddragon

Every damn laptop will heat up if you game on them for a prolonged period of time.

I have seen a 17 inch MBP in my office which runs Windows and some extremely heavy statistical softwares(they are really heavy...this particular computer basically manage the entire Polio surveillance database of our entire country...hope you can imagine)

Now,this particular laptop always run superhot..do not remember the temp.but it will surely burn your lap and can cause other assorted injury if placed over lap.
But this thing is running for years together without even broken down once!
Our big Lenovo server at Patna was destroyed once during Summer when the AC was out for 12hrs,but that old 17incher stood tall.

My point being every laptop will heat up on load and most of them will eventually die if you continue to game on them for hours together.
And whats the fun gaming on a lappy,I will probably never understand.

Why dont you guys make a killer desktop with such budget and buy a laptop only for work,occassional movies or music?

skeletor

And whats the fun gaming on a lappy,I will probably never understand.

Why dont you guys make a killer desktop with such budget and buy a laptop only for work,occassional movies or music?
This.

I have a high-end computer which will run every game @ ~60fps you throw at it on 1920x1080 with all settings maxed out. (Intel i5-2500k + HD 6950)

The fastest graphic card for laptops AMD HD 6990M is usually found in laptops costing more than 1 lakh. The desktop equivalent to HD 6990M is HD 6850 which only costs Rs. 10,000. AMD Phenom II X4 955 BE processors costs Rs. 5,800. Compatible motherboard for Rs. 5,000. 8GB DDR3 RAM? Only Rs. 3,000. Power Supply? Rs. 3,500. Total = Rs. 27,300. Buy cabinet, monitor, keyboard, mouse and speakers according to what you need.

Easily better than a laptop costing more than twice. And a hell lot better than a laptop of an equivalent price.

I also need to buy a laptop (for gaming) this summer when I go into college. I'm waiting for these:

[youtube]lsmTDb-Mlws[/youtube]

AMD Trinity will not overheat. It will give you great battery life and it will be there in mainstream less expensive laptops. It will handle games almost as well as i7 + discrete GPU "suitcases" which people buy.

arsenalfan001

Arsenal Fan
imho, all people who buy laptops for "gaming" 24x7 and then complain about overheating are idiots. Indians are the biggest majority of those idiots.

Random Yindan idiot #1: HP sucks. It overheats. <Insert any other problem> Go for Dell.

Random Yindan idiot #2: Dell sucks. It overheats. <Insert any other problem> Go for Asus.

Random Yindan idiot #3: Asus? No match for already established players. Go for Sony.

Random Yindan idiot #4: Sony sucks. It overheats. <Insert any other problem. Go for HP.

and the cycle continues.

Everyone needs to get one thing in their head. If you are buying a laptop around Rs. 50,000 with a high-end processor (for a laptop) and a high-end graphics processor (again for a laptop, as desktops walk over these)....you are bound to get heating issues whatsoever is the case.

Think again. Rates of components from Intel, AMD and nVidia are fixed. To bring down the final cost, what is a manufacturer going to do? Compromise on the build quality....especially cooling. PS: Apple doesn't do that.

Every laptop will reach 80 degree Celsius. If it's not reaching now, it will reach one day as the time will go by. Down to luck. No one can generalize here.

/rant.

ico, I agree with you.
People wont spend enough to get Gaming Laptops (Alienware, MSI GX series and Asus ROG series). However they will expect a sub 50K laptop to play all the latest games at ultra settings for 14 hours/day * 5 years without giving any trouble :evil:. Some expectations, eh !!!!

I see many people will ask here , I want a super -duper, ultra hi-fi gaming laptop at 40K :shock:. Man, it is not enough to build a desktop gaming rig, how can one expect to get a Gaming laptop at 40-50k.

And companies like HP and Dell will exploit this mindset.
Pathetic build and after sales service but solid components. Perfect recipe for disaster.
I also remember the HP pavilions with 8600GT. Oven, not a laptop.

Nah re!!
All the laptops are not mine,my wife owns a couple of them.

Then, you both are loaded :p

I also feel guilty for spending so much on gadgets. Trying to control that.

red dragon

Master troll
I also need to buy a laptop (for gaming) this summer when I go into college. I'm waiting for these:

[youtube]lsmTDb-Mlws[/youtube]

AMD Trinity will not overheat. It will give you great battery life and it will be there in mainstream less expensive laptops. It will handle games almost as well as i7 + discrete GPU "suitcases" which people buy.
Don't tempt me man!
Please dont!!
I have a little daughter to look after.

skeletor

ico, I agree with you.
People wont spend enough to get Gaming Laptops (Alienware, MSI GX series and Asus ROG series). However they will expect a sub 50K laptop to play all the latest games at ultra settings for 14 hours/day * 5 years without giving any trouble :evil:. Some expectations, eh !!!!

I see many people will ask here , I want a super -duper, ultra hi-fi gaming laptop at 40K :shock:. Man, it is not enough to build a desktop gaming rig, how can one expect to get a Gaming laptop at 40-50k.

And companies like HP and Dell will exploit this mindset.
Pathetic build and after sales service but solid components. Perfect recipe for disaster.
I also remember the HP pavilions with 8600GT. Oven, not a laptop.
Fully agreed. :)

There is another set of people. People whose requirements point to something else and they buy something else.

example, someone who only needs a machine to browse internet, edit documents, watch movies and great battery life. Criteria = high-end netbook.

What he ends up buying = low-end laptop or a second hand laptop for cheap.

Sure, the laptop will be faster, but then he keeps on regretting about the battery life.

One more example. There are two exactly same laptops. One retailing for 38k and the other one retailing at 49k. The only difference between them is, one has Intel i5-2430M and the other one has Intel i7-2670QM. Graphic card is GT 540M in both.

The guy is in a dilemma what he should get - i5 or i7. The guy's requirements are gaming and *ultra fast performance.*

In gaming i5 and i7 are going to be same. Because in practically, you only need a fast enough CPU to pump out data to the graphic card. You only need to avoid CPU bottleneck which i5 and i7 *easily* avoid.

Here's what that guy will do - he will pick out the laptop with i7 because i7 is 7, 7 is greater than 5....so i7 is phaaasht.

Instead, what he should have been doing is, buying the laptop with i5, removing the hard disk and replacing it with a 120GB SSD costing around Rs. 11,000. (yea, 120GB is less...but you can dump movies on a portable HDD) In terms of boot time, software load time and day to day task, SSD will rape i7 + Hard Disk. Hard Disks are slow. Very slow. Just check out few SSD boot videos on YouTube.

Many people really don't know what they need and should buy. Sad state. :(

Don't tempt me man!
Please dont!!
I have a little daughter to look after.
Don't worry, you've got a Macbook Air. :p You don't really need Trinity unless you'll play games on the go. :)