1. Hey Guest Did you know you can win an Honor 10 phone worth ₹33,000 and an additional ₹70,000 in paytm vouchers, just by replying to some threads and taking part in the discussions happening in the Honor Hub?

    What are you waiting for? Start commenting and start winning! Remember to read the instructions posted here.

    Dismiss Notice

inverter v/s UPS

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by rajesh_nk22, Feb 23, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rajesh_nk22

    rajesh_nk22 New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    162
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    goa
    hi,

    i have 500Va UPS, which gives very less backup around 10min (using for 1 PC having 17" CRT monitor), to get more backup, which will be the best solution?

    What if i go for inverter?
     
  2. RCuber

    RCuber The Mighty Unkel!!! Staff Member

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2004
    Messages:
    7,105
    Likes Received:
    12
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    ಬೆಂಗಳೂರು (Bengaluru)
    So dude stick to the UPS. The circuit in UPS is suited for Computers. Inverters for house old appliances.

    if you want more backup time and if u have the money, go for a higher 1000VA or 1500 VA UPS this might give you up to one hour backup time.i have to tell you these are very expensive . My UPS just gives me 5 mins.
     
  3. Kniwor

    Kniwor Learner

    Joined:
    Sep 14, 2005
    Messages:
    1,949
    Likes Received:
    6
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chicago
    inverter has a larger inverting time as compared to UPS and will not do good for a comp...
     
  4. kalpik

    kalpik In Pursuit of "Happyness"

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,002
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    ^^ Large switching time u must mean.. lol..

    You system will reboot till the time the inverter switches to battery power..
     
  5. Andyiz

    Andyiz New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2005
    Messages:
    173
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    reply

    I have got invertor\UPS (SUKAM 800VA) and 150 AH battery.
    its can owrk on both UPS and invertor mode.


    Let me tell u, i can get as much as 3 hrs back up with 3 fans and 3 tubes along with it(computer) running simultaneously.

    If only computer is made to run on the invertor it wil give as much as 7 to 8 hrs back up.

    Cost total SUKAM(Pure Sine wave) 800VA + 150 Ah battery= 13800Rs

    however if u own 17'inch monitor as i do, then computer sometimes reboot, dats the only problem.

    if u make up ur mind to get the invertor, inform the vendor that u own 17' inch monitor(if any).
    For 15 inch onces the invertor is bound to give u gud back up uninterrupted.
     
  6. kalpik

    kalpik In Pursuit of "Happyness"

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,002
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    The problem is not the backup ppl!!! Inverter will give u plenty of backup!! Its the switching time that matters..

    Ok.. Suppose your UPS switches in 2 micro seconds (suppose) and you inverter switches in 10 micro seconds.. Then your PC will reboot when the power goes.. because the computer needs very less switching time.. That is the basic difference between an inverter and a UPS. Otherwise they are both doing the same thing! Its just the switching time...
     
  7. d

    d New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2005
    Messages:
    196
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Chennai
    unless rajesh is willing to spend a lot of $$$ :lol: and invest in an on-line inverter...i.e its one where the systems run permanently on batteries...and as long as a.c mains are present, the batteries keep charging...so switching times <for practical purposes> are non-existent...almost....
     
  8. janitha

    janitha New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,801
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kollam, Kerala
    The best thing you can do is to get a higher capacity UPS with external battery. Make sure that the charging circuitry of the UPS has the capacity to charge the external battery (preferably tubular) which you are going to use. Capacity of the battery is specified in AH (ampere hours) and generally speaking, the charging rate is 1/10th of the AH of the battery. So a 150 AH battery should be charged @ 15A which your UPS should be able to manage. More AH the battery has, more back up time you will get. Of course there are numerous other methods of charging. What I have mentioned is so that you can have a basic idea.

    V.Prem Kumar
     
  9. puja399

    puja399 New Member

    Joined:
    Jul 30, 2005
    Messages:
    324
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Go get a good digital inverter (MOSFET) with a 150AH Battery (Some use even 2), and u will be happy without UPS. Or, u can use ur UPS alongwith ur Inverter, thenu wont have those switching problems, the UPS will handle them.
     
  10. grinning_devil

    grinning_devil New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,046
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    South Side Crater, Mars
    @rajesh_nk22
    is facing the same issue i was facing 4/5 days back...
    infact i was facing this since the last one month...
    everytime the power wud go off,the pc wud restart and though will operate for around 10mins but i was not happy with it...i needed something with which the PC shud NOT restart,even if it means 2mins of bakup!!

    so i went ahead and purchased Numeric 1000 VA double battery UPS (internal Batt. ) having 2 years of warranty... costed me 5500 bucks... (considering sumone i know purchased it for 9000 arnd 10mnths bak,this was a gud deal!! )
    nd frm the past 4 days i feel like iam in heaven...
    PC dont restart,even on the battery if i turn off the monitor and turn it back on then also it wont restart!
    have given me 35mins of bakup on 17" monitor... :))

    i wud really recommend this product....

    PS...initially i was inclined to go for APC 1000VA,but its 1500 + taxes costlier than numeric... :(
     
  11. ::vicky::

    ::vicky:: New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 23, 2006
    Messages:
    306
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    0X4B7H
    my advice is that u dont use computer on inverter it is not recommended
     
  12. janitha

    janitha New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Messages:
    1,801
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kollam, Kerala

    Very correct, since the inverters are normally not meant for use with computers unless specifically manufactured. There is likely to be problems with waveform, frequency etc. See, electronic equipments and particularly computers are more susceptible to them than other resistive and inductive loads. Further, as mentioned by others earlier, the transfer time is almost always more in case of inverters which will surely cause rebooting.

    V.Prem Kumar
     
  13. Ankur Gupta

    Ankur Gupta Wandering in time...

    Joined:
    Nov 7, 2004
    Messages:
    1,293
    Likes Received:
    11
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Delhi,India
    I have personal experience with using both inverter and UPS for backup power supply.
    Always PC reboots wen the electricity goes off wen my PC is conn to inverter.
    Very rarely ie.1/10 times my PC restarts wen electricity goes.
    And if u invest in an inverter for ur PC it is useless coz it can damage ur PC wen electricity goes coz restarts w/o shutting down properly.
    THE CHOICE IS URS!!!!!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page