how to tell if a gfx card's burnt

Discussion in 'Graphic cards' started by abhishek_sharma, Mar 5, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. abhishek_sharma

    abhishek_sharma New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2005
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i had oc'ed my gfx card without any cooling arrangements as such.
    though all went well, suddenly today the screen went off, and the monitor led keeps blinking quickly.
    the first time this happened my brother had just entered the windows desktop after playing a gfx card taxing game called london taxi.
    he was abt to change the screen res to sth higher, when this happened. even on subsequent reboots, the screen starts blinking after the windows xp boot screen appears..i.e. no select user screen comes up.

    since i have onboard vga also, i removed the gfx card and used it and computer did boot up properly without any problems.
    does this mean my gfx card is dead....how to confirm it???
     
  2. darklord

    darklord New Member

    Joined:
    Oct 5, 2003
    Messages:
    1,428
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Pune,India
    Whenever you run an application that stresses the GPU and it starts artifacting,its a clear indication that your GPU is screwed.
     
  3. deathvirus_me

    deathvirus_me New Member

    Joined:
    May 15, 2005
    Messages:
    1,838
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Kolkata, India
    How much did u actually oc ???
     
  4. OP
    OP
    abhishek_sharma

    abhishek_sharma New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2005
    Messages:
    136
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    but wont a burnt gfx card even run win xp properly....or does it mean sth else has happened
     
  5. mario_pant

    mario_pant New Member

    Joined:
    Jan 29, 2005
    Messages:
    425
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mushroom KiNGDOME!
    man... it wont run anything... as it will not process anything and your monitor is plugged into taht card i suppose. so NO!
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page