How to find Which programe is accessing internet?

Discussion in 'Internet & WWW' started by toofan, Aug 25, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. toofan

    toofan Active Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    2,197
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Haldwani(Nainital)
    Friends,

    Today after just connecting to broadband when i checked the bsnl status by clicking over the connection icon. I saw some data is contentiously received. Now i had switched off all my auto updates. So its not possible.

    So is there any software or a way by which i can find that which software or process is downloading the data automatically.
     
  2. Gauravs90

    Gauravs90 geek........

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2008
    Messages:
    748
    Likes Received:
    7
    Trophy Points:
    18
    Location:
    Thane, India
    use comodo firewall it will show all active conections
    -----------------------------------------
    Posted again:
    -----------------------------------------
    use comodo firewall it will show all active conections
     
    Last edited: Aug 25, 2009
  3. sakumar79

    sakumar79 Active Member

    Joined:
    Nov 28, 2004
    Messages:
    2,445
    Likes Received:
    9
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Madurai
    Many of the firewall software these days allow you to see which programs are accessing the net and how much data transfer they are causing... Please inform which firewall software you are using...

    Arun
     
  4. Aspire

    Aspire New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2009
    Messages:
    834
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Start->Run->cmd->netstat
    ^^
    Should work
     
  5. OP
    OP
    toofan

    toofan Active Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    2,197
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Haldwani(Nainital)
    I am using windows default one. Actually I don;t ever come with any firewall problem or it may be the case that I dont know about them much.

    Is comodo firewall is heavy on system.

    I use Avast freee edition with Spybot search and destroy.
     
  6. Disc_Junkie

    Disc_Junkie Call me D_J!

    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2008
    Messages:
    865
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ^ Comodo Internet Security has one of the best firewall. It allows you to monitor which program is opening how many TCP, UDP ports for connecting to the internet. And if you find any program suspicious you can terminate and block it permanently.

    It is not that heavy on the system and startsup pretty fast. And with the integrated antivirus, you don't need to install any other antivirus...just keep on updating it regularly.
     
  7. OP
    OP
    toofan

    toofan Active Member

    Joined:
    May 11, 2008
    Messages:
    2,197
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Location:
    Haldwani(Nainital)
    I will give it a try. Thanks dosto.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page