helP!!!!! me wit my un-predictable MB

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by sharath_ar89, Jul 5, 2009.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. sharath_ar89

    sharath_ar89 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    my comp was loyal 2 me until a few months from now.................

    now it starts well some times n doesn't some times<like most of the times>

    the processor fan runs n the power led glows but there is nothing happening in my comp. no post, boot and no beeps also.
    i can feel the south bridge heat sink to be hot but i don't feel north bridge n the processor heat sink to be hot when the above problem occurs. it occurs randomly. THE PSU IS FINE!!!!!!!!!!!!!.............

    my config>>
    P4 3 ghz
    1gb ram
    80 gb HDD
    MB = mercury PI915GLM
    PSU = 400 watts.
     
  2. jeetu

    jeetu Member

    Joined:
    Oct 20, 2006
    Messages:
    82
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    6
    It still looks like PSU or heating issue. Try running your PC with open cabinet.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    sharath_ar89

    sharath_ar89 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i always run my pc wit the cabinet open dude.
    its not the PSU
    or
    the over heating problem because i have added a cooler master HS n fan for my processor.........

    i know that the problem is with the MB....... buy wat part of MB is wat i do not know???????
     
  4. OP
    OP
    sharath_ar89

    sharath_ar89 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i always run my pc wit the cabinet open dude.
    its not the PSU
    or
    the over heating problem because i have added a cooler master HS n fan for my processor.........

    i know that the problem is with the MB....... but wat part of MB is wat i do not know???????
     
    Last edited: Jul 5, 2009
  5. pimpom

    pimpom Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,357
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    It could be the motherboard, but so far you have not given proof that it is the motherboard. Nor have you explained how you can be sure that the PSU is OK.

    It could also be that your RAM is defective or simply loose in the socket. Or the BIOS battery is weak. Or some connectors are not making proper contact. Or it could even be the CPU.
     
  6. VarDOS

    VarDOS 15.0 GHz

    Joined:
    May 18, 2008
    Messages:
    924
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    16
    Location:
    Beside A Road
    reset u r BIOS, the situation u r facing i have also faced, but it was happened bcause i went to OC the RAM, without changing the Voltage and I also faced nothing on screen, no beeps, all leds working, all fans working.

    The solution worked for it was I HOTFlased the BIOS, Its very risky
     
  7. OP
    OP
    sharath_ar89

    sharath_ar89 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    >>>PIMPOM
    hey man i always have a spare SMPS @ my place now i'm running on the spare SMPS n i still face the problem!!!!!
    you said it might be the cpu can u tell me how can it be cpu because i am typing on the same PC that i have to troubleshoot.ty.
     
  8. pimpom

    pimpom Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,357
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    If you had said this at the beginning, there would have been no need to say what I did. Don't expect us to read your mind.
    The same thing can be said for the other components, except that something is sometimes not working, but works at other times. Even if it's the RAM, it's obviously working at the moment. Same for the motherboard which is also obviously working now.

    Unless you have a strong indication, you cannot selectively rule out one component or fix the blame on another. You seem to have decided that it's the motherboard that's defective, but have not given any convincing evidence.

    I am not saying that it's not the motherboard - it could be. But you have not presented any reasonable ground for your fixation.
     
  9. OP
    OP
    sharath_ar89

    sharath_ar89 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    ok
    sry 4 not giving the full detail in the 1st post.....

    ok i'll conduct a memtest to see if thers any thing wrong
    will this help in find the problems with the ram, please tell me
     
  10. pimpom

    pimpom Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,357
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    In most cases, memtest86 can be relied on to tell you if the RAM is OK or not. But this is a tricky case. Whenever the faulty part is not working, you cannot boot and cannot even run memtest86. When you can boot, everything seems to work, including the memory. So a healthy pass with memtest86 may not be conclusive.

    This is what I suggest: Leave your computer off for some time and let it cool down and then turn it on. If it does not boot, turn it off immediately without restarting. Disconnect all drives and turn it on again. If it still does not boot, turn it off again and remove the RAM. Rub the contacts clean with a clean cotton cloth (not synthetic material). Reinsert the RAM firmly and try again. Then tell us what happens.
     
  11. OP
    OP
    sharath_ar89

    sharath_ar89 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    tried booting the system with out the ram. (i.e removed the ram) the system does not boot (i face the same problem).

    sry for the delayed post had sm prob with BSNL bb
     
  12. asingh

    asingh New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,317
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    A. You can never boot a system with the RAM modules removed.
    B. Reset your CMOS battery -- put in a new one.
    C. Are your cabinet/electricals earthed correct. Check the computer metal with a line-tester. There should not be even a 'faint' glow.
    D. Stress test it -- one of the times when you get to boot it. Use OCCT (PSU test). It will burn it hard..but stress it.
    E. Have you done any BIOS update as of late.
     
  13. pimpom

    pimpom Active Member

    Joined:
    Jul 13, 2004
    Messages:
    1,357
    Likes Received:
    2
    Trophy Points:
    38
    Not surprising at all that you couldn't boot without the RAM. No normal PC will boot without RAM. That's not what I meant when I suggested that you remove the RAM.

    Read my post again. What I suggested was to remove the RAM, clean the contacts and push it in again firmly, and then try to boot up again.
     
  14. OP
    OP
    sharath_ar89

    sharath_ar89 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    A> i mean i dont even get beeps wen i try to run my pc with out ram
    B> thers no problem wit the cmos battery its fine.
    C> yes it is properly earthed ( i myself am an electrical student)
    D> i'll do it
    E> nope not touched the bios
     
  15. OP
    OP
    sharath_ar89

    sharath_ar89 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    pimpom. i mean i could not hear the beep sound even after removing the ram.
    s i did it cleaned the ram with a soft cloth an even vacuumed the mb
     
  16. asingh

    asingh New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,317
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    reseat the cpu...also.
    How many memory modules you have..if 2..try with one only..alternate..to systematically catch the defective one..IF IT IS..?
     
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2009
  17. OP
    OP
    sharath_ar89

    sharath_ar89 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    did reseating the cpu. i have only 1 ram stick.
    i found this
    [​IMG] :!::!::!:

    wen i took this screen shot i did not switch off the pc and measured the voltage of the yellow wire with respect to the black wire in the molex connector and found it was all right i.e it was 12 volts.........
     
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2009
  18. asingh

    asingh New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,317
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    Whats the exact CPU you are using..your VCore seems a bit high to me...which P4 is it..?

    Also for how long did you stress the system..was it stable..??

    If possible download HWMonitor, and post a screen shot of the voltages..it should look something like this...

    [​IMG]

    Disregard my Voltage readings/its a totally different system vs yours.
     
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2009
  19. OP
    OP
    sharath_ar89

    sharath_ar89 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 24, 2008
    Messages:
    36
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    i ran the test 4 an hour twice

    this is the cpu z details. its 90 nm technology so i guess the voltage is right.
    [​IMG]

    this is the hw moniter details
    [​IMG]

    and also can u tell me y is the 12v showing so much less value. its showing .7v in urs and 5.65 in mine. but rest of the voltages are right!!!
     
  20. asingh

    asingh New Member

    Joined:
    May 28, 2008
    Messages:
    5,317
    Likes Received:
    16
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    I think this is your CPU. You 'can' lower the voltage, it will make a difference. Also if you lower the vCore then your +12V will also come down.

    I lowered my vCore to 0.9975 and my +12V now shows 0.35V....!

    But once you play around with vCore run some stability tests.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page