help me setup a smartlink dialup modem and connect via sancharnet dialup

Discussion in 'Open Source' started by prashanthnbhat, Jun 26, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. prashanthnbhat

    prashanthnbhat New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I'm completely new to linux and have installed fedora core 4.

    I have a smart link 56k dialup modem from krypton and it is working fine in windows xp. I'm not able to install its drivers in linux.

    At first I used the driver provided by the manufacturer (slmdm-2.7.14). I extracted the contents of the TAR archive, entered the extracted dir and typed in make. The terminal reported errors in every line.

    Then I downloaded two drivers, a source RPM and another TAR archive.

    I don't know how to install using source RPM.

    I extracted the new TAR archive, entered the extracted directory and gave the make command. The make command is giving me an error stating, file driver/.amrmo.o.cmd not found for driver/amrmo.o. I'm not able to figure out what the problem is, and its solution.

    can anybody help me, please? And also tell me what to do with the source RPM
     
  2. kalpik

    kalpik In Pursuit of "Happyness"

    Joined:
    May 18, 2005
    Messages:
    3,002
    Likes Received:
    15
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    New Delhi
    Try this:

    1. Extract the tar archieve.
    2. From console, type './configure' (with the dot)
    3. make
    4. make install
     
  3. OP
    OP
    prashanthnbhat

    prashanthnbhat New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I typed in ./configure
    it said no such dir
     
  4. mehulved

    mehulved 18 Till I Die............

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India, Mumbai, Marine Lines
    Try isntalling rpm with this command
    Code:
    su
    [root password]
    rpm -ivh <filename>
    
    If you get any errors, post them here.
     
  5. OP
    OP
    prashanthnbhat

    prashanthnbhat New Member

    Joined:
    Jun 19, 2006
    Messages:
    95
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I did as tech_your_future said. it gave me the following output:
    1. slmdm: warning:user qa does not exist using root
    warning:group qa does not exist using root
    ############################ [100%]
    warning:user qa does not exist using root
    warning:group qa does not exist using root


    I believe my modem has not yet been installed.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page