Geforce 6600 or 6600GT?

Discussion in 'Hardware Q&A' started by rdj_28, May 22, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. rdj_28

    rdj_28 New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I want to buy Geforce 6600 but am not able to understand which should i go for GT or non GT? and morever the confusion is what is AGP and PCI? my budget is upto 6,000 and i want to play these latest games like FEAR,PATH OF NEO,THIEF3,DA VINCI CODE etc. which requires pixel shader.My system configuration is:-

    Operating System: Windows XP Professional (5.1, Build 2600)

    System Manufacturer: INTEL

    System Model: D845GBV2

    Processor: Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.40GHz, ~2.4GHz

    Memory: 254MB RAM

    HDD:80GB

    DirectX Version: DirectX 9.0c (4.09.0000.0904)

    Card name: NVIDIA GeForce4 MX 4000
    Manufacturer: NVIDIA
    Chip type: GeForce4 MX 4000
    DAC type: Integrated RAMDAC
    Display Memory: 128.0 MB

    Description: SoundMAX Digital Audio
    Default Sound Playback: Yes
    Default Voice Playback: Yes
    Type: WDM
    Default Sound Capture: Yes
    Default Voice Capture: Yes
     
  2. drvarunmehta

    drvarunmehta New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,533
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Luckily you have an AGP slot on your motherboard because most 845 mobo's don't have one. So you can upgrade to better graphics.
    The 6600GT is better than the 6600 but it also costs more. So which one you buy depends on your budget.
    Keep in mind that you need to add more RAM to play these new games properly. 256 MB isn't enough. Add atleast 256 MB more but preferably add 512 MB or even 1 GB more if your budget allows it.
     
  3. OP
    OP
    rdj_28

    rdj_28 New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    how about Palit ATI Radeon X1300PRO? do you know the latest price? and yeah i have to add 256 mb RAM MORE so can you tell me the price of ram also? i am from mumbai and where can i get these cards and ram for best buy?
     
  4. kichu_overclocked

    kichu_overclocked New Member

    Joined:
    May 18, 2006
    Messages:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    bangalore
    go for the 6600GT....its a better version ....i jus recently set up sli using two xfx 6600xt cards....i tried out single card setup also...n the performance wasnt bad at all...........now XT is jus an overclocked LE!!!!! but gt is by far better as far as i know.....since u have an agp slot......thumbs up to 6600gt

    cheers!!!
     
  5. drvarunmehta

    drvarunmehta New Member

    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,533
    Likes Received:
    17
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Don't touch any card by Palit. Buy Powercolor if you want a Radeon card. I'm not sure if the X1300 Pro even has an AGP version. Even if it does, the 6600GT is a better card.
    256 RAM should cost Rs. 1200 but I suggest you get 512 MB RAM. Price is Rs. 2000.
    Tell your budget so we can choose the right card for you.
     
  6. maheswar2006

    maheswar2006 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Planet Earth Mumbai, where else?
    The 6600GT 128MB AGP is ur best bet, but it is way beyond ur budget. Do increase ur budget by 2.5K (if u can) and get it. u will not regret it. There r no games in the world which a 6600GT cannot handle........

    If u cant increase ur budget, u will have to settle for the plain vanilla 6600....
    Theres only 1 difference between the two. 6600GT user high speed GDDR3 RAM whereas the 6600 has only DDR1 RAM. Nt much difference on paper but when it comes to sheer perfomance, even the 6600GT 128MB thrashes the hell out of a 6600 256MB!!!

    If u want to convert into a real good machine, open ur case, clean out all the dust, take out the heatsink and clean it and reapply thermal compound (use arctic silver or ceramique/ or pastes from antec,coolermaster only)
    Make sure your PSU is rated at least 400W from a branded company like powersafe and go for at least 512MB Ram ( 1GB would be greatt).

    And reformat ur com(not compulsory) and put the Pagefile on another partition rather than the 1 which has ur windows directory. Make sure the max and min size of the pagefile is the same, and put the values at not less than 3 times ur system memory.

    ~~~mahesh~~~
     
  7. OP
    OP
    rdj_28

    rdj_28 New Member

    Joined:
    May 22, 2006
    Messages:
    6
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    my budget is upto 6000 for graphics and for ram its ok upto 2000
     
  8. samrulez

    samrulez New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 16, 2006
    Messages:
    1,334
    Likes Received:
    4
    Trophy Points:
    0
    IF ur budget is 6k for a graphics card then try to push it to 7.5k get a 6600GT or get 6600 for around 5k.
    Go for a 512 MB ram which will cost around 2k
    (I am not too sure about the prices!!)
     
  9. wizrulz

    wizrulz GUNNING DOWN TEAMS

    Joined:
    Mar 5, 2005
    Messages:
    1,724
    Likes Received:
    21
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    MUMBAI
    6600 (non GT) 128Mb and 512 ram will just fit in ur budget....
    but be sure from which company 6600 u wanna buy....dealers usually fool with wrong cards saying they the same and more over lure with less price and good packaging
     
  10. mayanksharma

    mayanksharma New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Noida/NCR
    GT will require you a complete system overhauling.While 6600 will fit perfectly in your system and costing you much lesser too.
    Also look out for the DDR2 6600 from XFX.Pretty decent price to performance ratio.
     
  11. tiblu

    tiblu New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 5, 2005
    Messages:
    89
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    If 7300 GT is avaiable in AGP then go for it. It is around 7000 not sure.
     
  12. mayanksharma

    mayanksharma New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Messages:
    598
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Noida/NCR
    na na!
    I dont think so.7300GT still cant beat 6600GT man!Thst 6600GT is too powerful card.
    hehe.Go check out for urself!
     
  13. TechMogul

    TechMogul New Member

    Joined:
    May 27, 2006
    Messages:
    10
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    7300GT mite be equivalent to 6600GT but i dont think its better.
     
  14. aryayush

    aryayush New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    5,594
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Noida
    6600 GT is a PCI-E card, isn't it?
     
  15. maheswar2006

    maheswar2006 New Member

    Joined:
    Apr 12, 2006
    Messages:
    30
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Planet Earth Mumbai, where else?
    6600GT is available both in AGP and PCI-E versions.

    6600GT PcIe is faster than 6600GT AGP.................but
    6600GT AGP is costlier than 6600GT pCie..................

    Strange world..............
    ~~~mahesh~~~
     
  16. ashfame

    ashfame New Member

    Joined:
    Mar 30, 2006
    Messages:
    761
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Delhi / Jaipur
  17. akshayt

    akshayt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    6600GT period, nothing to ask/discuss about this, if you want to ask me ,feel free to do so.
     
  18. akshayt

    akshayt New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 23, 2003
    Messages:
    1,708
    Likes Received:
    5
    Trophy Points:
    0
    not sure of 7300GT, but prefer higher cards like 7600/7900 and 1800 series cards
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page