Doubts on Linux Root account..

Status
Not open for further replies.

Sathish

Debian Gnu/Linux User
I am new to Linux World and now i have started to learn Linux from basically.
Lot of professional tech guys says that linux is more secure than windows in lot of ways,such as file system, process architecture, core component of OS, execution of root account, etc.. Digit has also an article regarding this, in their early issues. Apart from that i have following doubts regarding Root Account.

1. what is the main difference between Root account in Linux and Administrator account in Windows. Both are controlled the important settings of OS mostly in the same way..
2. recently I read the method of resetting the root password without entering old password..This is published in QnA section in Digit.. So how can we tell linux is safe.. as far as windows, resetting administrator password is possible only by providing password..(i agree that there are no .of third party tools have done this but only as illegal.)
3. By logically, as the source code of Linux distribution is available freely to all, Is there any way to change the password of root account by a veteran programmer?
(I am not a professional programmer, so i could not specify exactly)
4. Is there any limitation to Root account to control entire OS?

mehulved

18 Till I Die............
2. recently I read the method of resetting the root password without entering old password..This is published in QnA section in Digit.. So how can we tell linux is safe.. as far as windows, resetting administrator password is possible only by providing password..(i agree that there are no .of third party tools have done this but only as illegal.)
I won't give the answer but just inform you that there are ways to avoid this. As to how, I leave it for you to figure out yourself.