Cool 3D effects in Fedora Core 6 using Beryl!!

Discussion in 'Open Source' started by JGuru, Nov 7, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. JGuru

    JGuru Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,726
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Space-time continuum
    Here is the detailed procedure to install Beryl for those super cool 3D effects in Fedora Core 6!!.

    Read the complete instructions here


    NOTE: Guys take a backup of the 'etc/X11/xorg.conf' file before making any changes!!
    So in case something goes wrong, you can always restore the original file
    .
     
  2. praka123

    praka123 left this forum longback

    Joined:
    Sep 7, 2005
    Messages:
    7,513
    Likes Received:
    24
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    -
    there exists ppl using fedora core? OMG! debian/ubuntu the superior and da future of GNU/Linux with GNOME DE. ;)
     
  3. adit_sen

    adit_sen New Member

    Joined:
    Feb 8, 2004
    Messages:
    342
    Likes Received:
    1
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Perth, A*stralia
    well different linux distro's serve different purposes to people. so i don't think that's a fair comment...
     
  4. aryayush

    aryayush New Member

    Joined:
    May 6, 2005
    Messages:
    5,594
    Likes Received:
    20
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Noida
    Doesn't Fedora Core 6 "Zod" have XGL/Compiz installed by default?
     
  5. mehulved

    mehulved 18 Till I Die............

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India, Mumbai, Marine Lines
    And as of what I have read Red Hat people have a lot behind developing GNOME DE.
     
  6. OP
    OP
    JGuru

    JGuru Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,726
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Space-time continuum
    @Prakash, There are some loyal Fedora users also. This is for them.
    @aryayush, Yes, Fedora 6 comes with XGL & AIGLX. But Beryl effects are superior
    to that XGL & AIGLX. Even though Beryl is a fork of XGL!!
     
  7. eddie

    eddie El mooooo

    Joined:
    Jan 26, 2006
    Messages:
    1,414
    Likes Received:
    14
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India
    Correction...
    Beryl is a fork of Compiz and not XGL.
     
  8. OP
    OP
    JGuru

    JGuru Well-Known Member

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,726
    Likes Received:
    32
    Trophy Points:
    48
    Location:
    Space-time continuum
  9. gauravnawani

    gauravnawani New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 6, 2004
    Messages:
    154
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore, India
    Prakash some time you speak wierd :p. I actualy loved fc6 after a long gap, but then Edgey was not behaving well for me. ;)
    __________
    They do, but you will need to have accelerated graphics drivers, the default graphics drivers are not... well normally.
     
    Last edited: Dec 3, 2006
  10. subratabera

    subratabera Just another linux lover.

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    564
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore, KA
    Anyone knows what is the MINIMUM hardware requirement for Beryl, AIGLX etc...Is there someone who is running Beryl on his 5 year old system??? I have an INTEL i810 series MoBo with onboard graphic and 256 MB SDRAM. Will it run on my system???
     
    Last edited: Dec 3, 2006
  11. mehulved

    mehulved 18 Till I Die............

    Joined:
    Jul 15, 2004
    Messages:
    5,790
    Likes Received:
    44
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    India, Mumbai, Marine Lines
    Subratabera forget about XGL. AIGLX maybe but still not worth the try. 256 is low enough to just about run a full fledged DE.
    IMO, at 256MB of RAM you shouldn't run anything over XFCE.
     
  12. subratabera

    subratabera Just another linux lover.

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2006
    Messages:
    564
    Likes Received:
    26
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore, KA
    But KDE & Gnome both are working fine on my system...
     
    Last edited: Dec 3, 2006
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page