CDROM DRIVER DISABLE

Discussion in 'QnA (read only)' started by nisman, Sep 24, 2004.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. nisman

    nisman New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 9, 2004
    Messages:
    27
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Delhi,India
    HI EVERYBODY, :lol:

    MY PC'S CONFIGRATION IS :arrow: CELERON 500, VIA CHIPSET VT8601 MOTHERBOARD, 80 GB HD, CDROM, FDD.
    SOMETIMES WHAT HAPPENS AFTER INSERTING CD IN TO THE CDROM DRIVE SYSTEM GET HANGED AND AFTER REBOOTING THE SYSTEM THE CDROM ICON FROM THE SYSTEM DISABLED AUTOMATICALLY :!: .
    EVEN AFTER REINSTALLING THE DRIVER IT DOES'NT WORK. EVERY TIME I HAVE TO RELOAD THE OS TO ACCESS THE CDROM.


    PLS HELP ME
     
  2. vinay

    vinay New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2004
    Messages:
    11
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Use Drom Universal Cdrom driver will detect any cdroms
     
  3. [deXter]

    [deXter] New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2003
    Messages:
    180
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Mumbai
    Well, you didnt mention the main things:

    1) Make and model of your cdrom
    2) Which OS you are running

    Anyways, if you are using Windows XP, then you should face no problem regarding drivers. It could be that your CD drive's lens is dirty. Try cleaning your drive with a lens cleaner disk. If that doesnt work, reinstall your OS. Sometimes XP does encounter problems with cdrom drives disappearing. Reinstall XP and also apply Service Pack 2 (sp2) for XP.

    Of course, if you are using Windows 98, then try updating your Windows 98, theres even an unofficial service pack for 98 se available on the net.

    In the end it could plainly be that your CDROM drive has just become too old. Why dont you upgrade to a CD-Writer (costs ~1000-1500) or go for the Digit DVD drive/combo offer?
     
  4. klinux

    klinux New Member

    Joined:
    Sep 25, 2004
    Messages:
    625
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    - Switch cables between hdd and cdrom
    - clear bios
    - check ide controller properties in device manager and enable "use both ide controllers"
    - check if cdrom is using dma or pio mode in device manager ide controller
    - check ur jumpers
    - switch cdrom from secondary to primary
    - connect cdrom and hdd on same cable , change jumper settings in 2 ways . one make both as cable select . two make one slave and one master .

    - if all fails try new drive
     
  5. ShekharPalash

    ShekharPalash Web Entrepreneur

    Joined:
    Aug 4, 2004
    Messages:
    584
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    if ur on XP then rightclick on ur mycomp icon in startmenu or desktop N click on MANAGE....
    then Disk Management

    and click on ur CD Drive there... and change it's drive letter, if not assigned... this shud fix the problem.
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page