Automated Rebooting

Discussion in 'Software Q&A' started by grinning_devil, Mar 30, 2006.

Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.
  1. grinning_devil

    grinning_devil New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,046
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    South Side Crater, Mars
    I wanna know how to write a batch file that reboots a server at 11PM.

    From here, I plan on making this a scheduled task

    Any suggestions....and i need the answer ASAP!!
    :x
     
  2. OP
    OP
    grinning_devil

    grinning_devil New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,046
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    South Side Crater, Mars
    have taken care of it...no worries... !!
     
  3. ilugd

    ilugd Beware of the innocent

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,009
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    How did you do it?
     
  4. theraven

    theraven Active Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2004
    Messages:
    2,912
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    36
    Location:
    off to "never ever" land
    well its simple
    open notepad
    copy paste the following

    Code:
    shutdown -r -t 01
    
    save it as a .bat file
    say restart.bat
    then from scheduled task in windows add this to run daily at 11pm
     
  5. OP
    OP
    grinning_devil

    grinning_devil New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,046
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    South Side Crater, Mars
    well the method posted by raven was also in my mind,but instead of a bat file,i went ahead directly,

    created a new scheduled task,
    entered the day and time i wanted it to run,
    and in the run field entered the commands -

    For Windows 98/ME >> RUNONCE.EXE -q
    For Windows 2000/XP/2003 Server >> SHUTDOWN.EXE -r -f -t 01

    earlier i was thinking of having a bat file,but nyways i went ahead with the above.
    but tell u what....it was not restarting!!
    i figured out that it has something to do with windows being locked at that time,so antered the login details in scheduled task..and it solved it !
     
  6. ilugd

    ilugd Beware of the innocent

    Joined:
    Dec 25, 2005
    Messages:
    1,009
    Likes Received:
    3
    Trophy Points:
    0
    I think it is better to use the command directly in the scheduler instead of a convoluted process chain through the batch file. However, it all depends on the need.

    However what i really would need would be some way to start the system at at a specified time.
     
  7. OP
    OP
    grinning_devil

    grinning_devil New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,046
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    South Side Crater, Mars
    i dont think that willl be possible,as giving power to it at a given time...is....hmmm.....not possible i guess!!
     
  8. planetcall

    planetcall Indian by heart

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2003
    Messages:
    343
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    Bangalore
    What is your question ?? Reboot doesnt require you to give power to your pc. It must have been already running and that is how it went into reboot. Make your question clear.
     
  9. OP
    OP
    grinning_devil

    grinning_devil New Member

    Joined:
    Dec 3, 2004
    Messages:
    1,046
    Likes Received:
    0
    Trophy Points:
    0
    Location:
    South Side Crater, Mars
    my reply was NOT related to rebooting...
    it was related to starting a PC by scheduling it....which i dont think is possible

    crystal clear ...clean....spotless....easy to understand post...right???
     
Thread Status:
Not open for further replies.

Share This Page