utkarsh009

In the zone
so by now you all must have known that i am a novice. anyways, i have a question. are amd fusion and amd bulldozer different? i know that fusion refers to apu. an apu is what combines cpu and gpu on the same die (sandy bridge is an apu, right?). so is it possible that in an year or two that apu's would eliminate the use of graphics card in computer? and lastly what is the expected price of amd fusion. [one request: instead of reviewing micromax and all other crap brands and products in digit magazine, why dont you write more of these informative things and encourage creativity skill among people.]

ico

Super Moderator
Staff member
Bulldozer is just a normal CPU.

Currently you have only two AMD Fusion APUs available - Ontario and Zacate. And these are only fit enough for Netbooks at the moment. They are much much better than Intel Atom.

We'll see Llano soon which will be like your Athlon II/Phenom II + GPU on the same die.

Bulldozer + GPU fusion will happen next year.

As far as graphic performance is concerned, no way they are getting replaced anytime soon. But what we will be seeing is the performance of entry level graphics vastly improving over the period of time.

OP
utkarsh009

utkarsh009

In the zone
and what is ivy bridge?

---------- Post added at 09:39 PM ---------- Previous post was at 09:33 PM ----------

can a netbook's components be changed? say if in future i want to change from intel atom to zacate, is it possible?

ico

Super Moderator
Staff member
You don't really find laptop processors in the market anyways. And when you do (rare case), they are expensive.

Then even if you buy one, you'll have to open up the laptop yourself and upgrade the processor. The manufacturer will offer no support for doing this. And who opens up a laptop anyways?

Laptop and desktop processor sockets are different. (general info) So are sockets of Intel and AMD. ;)

coderunknown

Retired Forum Mod